Technical

  • Haskell Bake and Kubernetes (http://brian.uncannyworks.com/posts/2016-12-09-haskell-bake-and-kubernetes.html)
  • By Brian Jones (https://twitter.com/mojobojo)
  • How to set up a HA privately networked Kubernetes cluster in AWS with kops (https://www.nivenly.com/k8s-aws-private-networking/)
  • By Kris Nova (https://twitter.com/KrisNovember)
  • How to Create and Use Kubernetes Secrets (http://linoxide.com/containers/create-use-kubernetes-secrets/)
  • By Mohamed Ez Ez (http://linoxide.com/author/mohamedez/)
  • A Quick Look at the Kubernetes Python Client (https://www.ianlewis.org/en/quick-look-kubernetes-python-client)
  • By Ian Lewis (https://twitter.com/IanMLewis)
  • Kubernetes Containers: Logging and Monitoring support (https://sematext.com/blog/2016/12/06/kubernetes-monitoring-logging/)
  • By Stefan Thies (https://twitter.com/seti321)
  • Using Helm to install Traefik as an Ingress Controller in Kubernetes (http://agiletesting.blogspot.com/2016/12/using-helm-to-install-traefik-as.html)
  • By Grig Gheorghiu (https://twitter.com/griggheo)
  • NGINX and NGINX Plus Ingress Controllers for Kubernetes Load Balancing (https://www.nginx.com/blog/nginx-plus-ingress-controller-kubernetes-load-balancing/)
  • By Michael Pleshakov (https://github.com/pleshakov)
  • CLI tool to manage Kubernetes Secrets easily (https://github.com/dtan4/k8sec)
  • By Daisuke Fujita (https://twitter.com/dtan4)
  • awsecr-creds minikube addon (https://stevesloka.com/2016/12/10/awsecr-creds-minikube-addon/)
  • By Steve Sloka (https://twitter.com/stevesloka)
  • Serverless Framework for Kubernetes (https://github.com/skippbox/kubeless)
  • By Tuna (https://twitter.com/ngtuna11)
  • Minikube (Kubernetes) installation (https://richardroseblog.wordpress.com/2016/12/12/minikube-kubernetes-installation/)
  • By Richard Rose (https://twitter.com/coder_rosey)
  • Releasing backward-incompatible changes: Kubernetes, Jenkins, Prometheus Operator, Helm and Traefik (https://medium.com/@enxebre/releasing-backward-incompatible-changes-kubernetes-jenkins-plugin-prometheus-operator-helm-self-6263ca61a1b1#.ar14f8v1s)
  • By Alberto García L. (https://twitter.com/AlbertoGarLa)
  • Last.Backend goes to be open-source today (https://blog.lastbackend.com/post/opensource/)
  • By the Last.Backend team (https://twitter.com/LastBackend)
  • Day 11 – Going from local Docker-compose to Kubernetes (https://sysadvent.blogspot.com/2016/12/day-11-going-from-local-docker-compose.html)
  • By Sebastien Goasguen (https://twitter.com/sebgoa) & Daniel Kang (https://twitter.com/kangman)

Blogs / Articles

  • Google, Red Hat Partner to Extend Kubernetes (http://www.enterprisetech.com/2016/12/08/google-red-hat-extend-kubernetes/)
  • By George Leopold (https://twitter.com/gleopold1)
  • Linux and Windows, living together, total chaos! (OK, Kubernetes 1.5) (https://www.mirantis.com/blog/linux-windows-living-together-total-chaos-ok-kubernetes-1-5/?mkt_tok=eyJpIjoiWXpSa09EZzROV1F3WXpnMyIsInQiOiJUaDlmWEpSNTRjWEI3SFlkMm9SYnFudkJuQmRSbnd0Y1hzY2xBV3MzanpLYTFINzV1ZFA5MndZTE1tVGJadUhmZVVcL1VDdURqd282c1dodWFtYUJ6SUFOSGZJV3ZrNUJNcmtQTTJpdk9rWFRtVE5XUWRzc3pjSVJYbU9lb0hZdzUifQ%3D%3D)
  • By Nick Chase (https://twitter.com/NickChase)
  • From Network Policies to Security Policies (http://blog.kubernetes.io/2016/12/from-network-policies-to-security-policies.html?utm_campaign=crowdfire&utm_content=crowdfire&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter)
  • By Bernard Van De Walle (https://twitter.com/bvandewa)
  • Enterprises get first glimpse into Kubernetes for Windows (http://searchitoperations.techtarget.com/news/450404361/Enterprises-get-first-glimpse-into-Kubernetes-for-Windows?utm_campaign=sitops_dcv&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter&utm_content=1481220977)
  • By Beth Pariseau (https://twitter.com/pariseautt)
  • VMware 2017 Predictions: What’s to Come for Cloud-Native in 2017 (http://vmblog.com/archive/2016/12/08/vmware-2017-predictions-what-s-to-come-for-cloud-native-in-2017.aspx#.WE4Lz6IrKqC)
  • By Kit Colbert (https://twitter.com/kitcolbert)
  • Kubernetes High Availability Setup Using Ansible (https://www.linux.com/blog/kubernetes-high-availability-setup-using-ansible)
  • By Pawan Kamboj (https://twitter.com/pawankkamboj)
  • Using NATS Messaging with some of your favorite Golang tools (https://blog.gopheracademy.com/advent-2016/nats/)
  • By NATS.io team
  • Why Heptio is a Kubernetes company, not a Kubernetes distribution (https://blog.heptio.com/why-heptio-is-a-kubernetes-company-not-a-kubernetes-distribution-df35bb0a559f#.ni8xd0psu)
  • By Craig McLuckie (https://twitter.com/cmcluck)
  • Q&A: Former Googlers’ startup nurtures enterprise Kubernetes (http://searchitoperations.techtarget.com/news/450404159/QA-Former-Googlers-startup-nurtures-enterprise-Kubernetes)
  • By Beth Pariseau (https://twitter.com/pariseautt)
  • Kubernetes Federationの今とこれから (http://tech-blog.abeja.asia/entry/Kubernetes-federation)
  • By ABEJA Tech Blog (http://tech-blog.abeja.asia/about)
  • K8s/AWS : Mad Scheme or Cunning Plan? (https://medium.com/microscaling-systems/k8s-aws-mad-scheme-or-cunning-plan-21a9d3e880fd#.empfc4jhm)
  • By Anne Currie (https://twitter.com/anne_e_currie)
  • Self-Driving Kubernetes, Container Linux by CoreOS and Kubernetes 1.5 (https://coreos.com/blog/tectonic-self-driving.html)
  • By Alex Polvi (https://twitter.com/polvi?lang=en)
  • CoreOS brings auto-updates to Kubernetes (http://www.infoworld.com/article/3149068/open-source-tools/coreos-brings-auto-updates-to-kubernetes.html#tk.twt_ifw)
  • By Serdar Yegulalp (https://twitter.com/syegulalp)
  • CoreOS Unveils ‘Self-Driving’ Kubernetes (http://containerjournal.com/2016/12/12/coreos-unveils-self-driving-kubernetes/)
  • By Mike Vizard (https://twitter.com/mvizard)

Presentations
*

  • Cloud Native Con / KubeCon 2016 (https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLj6h78yzYM2PqgIGU1Qmi8nY7dqn9PCr4)
  • Full list of all presentations and talks from Seattle, 2016
  • DevOps Day 2016 (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCJ5PElsUTlzmIe50z6BBxZg/videos)
  • Full list of all presentations and talks from Devops Day, 2016
  • Containers with Qstack: Docker Swarm vs Kubernetes (https://www.qstack.com/webinar_registration_containers)
  • A lot of interest has been building up for the use of containers in production environments. In this webinar, we’ll show how you can get started with Qstack and two of the most popular solutions:
    o Docker Swarm
    o Kubernetes
  • SIG-Apps 12-05-16 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wdDZ9JvhKiw&feature=youtu.be&t=209)
  • Kubernetes native support for Apache Spark, Ansible module for Helm
  • L’aventure CI/CD, de Git à Kubernetes, vous pouvez le faire (ou pas) ! (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G2FO93rS_U8)
  • By Patrice Ferlet (https://twitter.com/Metal3d) ; Impossible de ne pas avoir entendu le mot “conteneur” et des solutions “Docker”, de “scalling”, de “clustering”, de “Continuous Delivery” qui viennent avec. C’est quoi tout ce charabia ? et pourquoi je devrais m’y mettre (ou pas) ?
  • Kubernetes for Java developers (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p2eydFmbJ_A)
  • Speaker Arun Gupta (https://twitter.com/arungupta) ; How do you package your Java application using Kubernetes? What are your development and deployment options? How does it integrate with Maven? How do you create volumes that outlive container restarts? How do you easily create a CI/CD pipeline for Java applications deployed to Kubernetes?

Slideshare

  • CI/CD with Kubernetes, Helm & Wercker (http://www.slideshare.net/Diacode/cicd-with-kubernetes-helm-wercker-madscalability)
  • By Javier Cuetas (https://twitter.com/javier_dev) ; Slides for talk at #madScalability meetup
  • Kubernetes 101 for Developers (http://www.slideshare.net/kuxman/kubernetes-101-for-developers)
  • By Ross Kukulinski (https://twitter.com/rosskukulinski) ; From the Philly Kubernetes December 2016 Meetup.

Upcoming Events

  • Tectonic Summit (https://www.eventbrite.com/e/tectonic-summit-december-2016-new-york-city-tickets-27416398185)
  • December 12-13, NYC
  • Learn about Kubernetes 1.5 Highlights (https://www.meetup.com/Nashville-Kubernetes-Meetup/events/234976094/)
  • December 13, Nashville
  • Kubernetes, Mesos, or Swarm? Architecting Distributed Applications (https://www.eventbrite.com/e/kubernetes-mesos-or-swarm-architecting-distributed-applications-tickets-29760762241?utm_content=45057692&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter)
  • December 13, Webinar
  • Social with Go and Kubernetes Meetups at Torched Hop Brewing (https://www.meetup.com/Docker-Atlanta/events/235735916/)
  • December 13, Atlanta
  • Intro to Deploying Your Favorite Apps on Kubernetes (https://bitnami.com/webinar/helm)
  • December 14, Webinar
  • TechForward Kubernetes Webinar (http://tovmug.com/techforward-kubernetes-webinar-1214/)
  • December 14, Webinar
  • Kubernetes in Azure demo – Alessandro from Microsoft (https://www.meetup.com/Amsterdam-Kubernetes-Meetup/events/235981840/)
  • December 15, Amsterdam
  • Containing Chaos with Kubernetes (https://nomadphp.com/nomadphp-2017-01-us/)
  • January 19, Webinar
  • Kubernetes Hands-On, OSCON (http://conferences.oreilly.com/oscon/oscon-tx/public/schedule/grid/public)
  • May 8-11, Austin
  • Container Camp AU (https://container.camp/au/2017/)
  • May 2017, Austrailia

Literature

  • Mastering CoreOS (https://www.amazon.com/Mastering-CoreOS-Sreenivas-Makam/dp/1785288121%3FSubscriptionId%3DAKIAJ2HQNLFCLUOUMLHQ%26tag%3Dzippylab-20%26linkCode%3Dsp1%26camp%3D2025%26creative%3D165953%26creativeASIN%3D1785288121&zpy=1)
  • By Sreenivas Makam (https://twitter.com/srmakam) ; This book covers the CoreOS internals and the technologies used in the deployment of container-based distributed applications
  • Kubernetes: Up and Running: Dive into the Future of Infrastructure (http://www.savingexpert.info/2016/11/24/10-kubernetes-up-and-running-dive-into-the-future-of-infrastructure-6/)
  • By Kelsey Hightower (https://twitter.com/kelseyhightower) ; This practical book will prepare you to take advantage of everything the Kubernetes platform has to offer.
  • Kubernetes Microservices with Docker (https://www.amazon.com/Kubernetes-Microservices-Docker-Vohra-ebook/dp/B01FXJ9OB8%3FSubscriptionId%3DAKIAJ2HQNLFCLUOUMLHQ%26tag%3Dzippylab-20%26linkCode%3Dsp1%26camp%3D2025%26creative%3D165953%26creativeASIN%3DB01FXJ9OB8&zpy=1)
  • By Vohra (https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=dp_byline_sr_ebooks_1?ie=UTF8&text=Vohra&search-alias=digital-text&field-author=Vohra&sort=relevancerank) ; This book on Kubernetes, the container cluster manager, discusses all aspects of using Kubernetes in today’s complex big data and enterprise applications, including Docker containers.
  • Deploying Rails with Docker, Kubernetes and ECS (https://www.amazon.com/Deploying-Rails-Docker-Kubernetes-ECS/dp/1484224140%3FSubscriptionId%3DAKIAJ2HQNLFCLUOUMLHQ%26tag%3Dzippylab-20%26linkCode%3Dsp1%26camp%3D2025%26creative%3D165953%26creativeASIN%3D1484224140&zpy=1)
  • By Pablo Acuña (https://twitter.com/pabloacunar) ; shows you how to set up the project, push it to DockerHub, manage services and set up an efficient continuous integration environment.
  • Kubernetes Management Design Patterns: With Docker, CoreOS Linux, and Other Platforms (https://www.amazon.com/Kubernetes-Management-Design-Patterns-Platforms/dp/148422597X%3FSubscriptionId%3DAKIAJ2HQNLFCLUOUMLHQ%26tag%3Dzippylab-20%26linkCode%3Dsp1%26camp%3D2025%26creative%3D165953%26creativeASIN%3D148422597X&zpy=1)
  • By Vohra (https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=dp_byline_sr_ebooks_1?ie=UTF8&text=Vohra&search-alias=digital-text&field-author=Vohra&sort=relevancerank) ; The atomic unit of modular container service in Kubernetes is a Pod, which is a group of containers with a common filesystem and networking. The Kubernetes Pod abstraction enables design patterns for containerized applications similar to object-oriented design patterns. Containers provide some of the same benefits as software objects such as modularity or packaging, abstraction, and reuse
  • Kubernetes Management Design Patterns: With Docker, CoreOS Linux, and Other Platforms 1st ed. Edition (https://www.amazon.com/Kubernetes-Management-Design-Patterns-Platforms/dp/148422597X%3FSubscriptionId%3DAKIAJ2HQNLFCLUOUMLHQ%26tag%3Dzippylab-20%26linkCode%3Dsp1%26camp%3D2025%26creative%3D165953%26creativeASIN%3D148422597X&zpy=1)
  • Take container cluster management to the next level; learn how to administer and configure Kubernetes on CoreOS; and apply suitable management design patterns such as Configmaps, Autoscaling, elastic resource usage, and high availability. Some of the other features discussed are logging, scheduling, rolling updates, volumes, service types, and multiple cloud provider zones.

Swag

  • KUBERNETES NO SHOW SOCK (https://store.cncf.io/collections/kubernetes/products/kubernestes-no-show-sock)
  • The most comfortable sock on earth! The K8 no show sock is the ultimate fashion accessory and the most comfortable one you will ever wear. One size fits most.