Technical

  • Kubernetes Slack Monitoring (https://github.com/whs/kube-slack)
  • By Manatsawin Hanmongkolchai (https://github.com/whs)
  • Easy Elixir clusters, pluggable discovery. DNS-based (Kubernetes, Weave) UDP broadcast, and others. (https://github.com/mrluc/peerage)
  • By Luc Fueston (https://twitter.com/lucfueston)
  • In 13 minutes from Kubernetes to a complete application development tool (https://about.gitlab.com/2016/11/14/idea-to-production/)
  • By Job van der Voort (https://twitter.com/Jobvo)
  • Creating and accessing a Kubernetes cluster on OpenStack, part 3: Run the application (https://www.mirantis.com/blog/creating-accessing-kubernetes-cluster-openstack-part-3-run-application/)
  • By Nick Chase (https://twitter.com/NickChase)
  • Visualize Kubelet Performance with Node Dashboard (http://blog.kubernetes.io/2016/11/visualize-kubelet-performance-with-node-dashboard.html)
  • By Zhou Fang (https://www.linkedin.com/in/zfang1)
  • Kubernetes Containers Logging and Monitoring with Sematext (http://blog.kubernetes.io/2016/11/kubernetes-containers-logging-monitoring-with-sematext.html)
  • By Stefan Thies (https://twitter.com/seti321)
  • Kubernetes API: Client-side Load Balancer (http://www.eggie5.com/95-kubernetes-api)
  • By Alex Egg (https://twitter.com/eggie5)
  • DIY Kubernetes cluster with x86 stick-pcs (https://hackernoon.com/diy-kubernetes-cluster-with-x86-stick-pcs-b0b6b879f8a7#.k63z5kn4f)
  • By Chad Moon (https://twitter.com/moondev)

Blogs / Articles

  • Trireme adds production-scale security to Kubernetes (http://opensourceforu.com/2016/11/trireme-adds-production-scale-security-kubernetes/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+LinuxForYou+%28OpenSourceForYou+%29)
  • By Jagmeet Singh (https://twitter.com/jagmeets13)
  • Google-Intel alliance boosts Kubernetes, machine learning, IoT, and more (http://www.infoworld.com/article/3142136/artificial-intelligence/google-intel-alliance-boosts-kubernetes-machine-learning-iot-and-more.html)
  • By Serdar Yegulalp (https://twitter.com/syegulalp)
  • How to get Kubernetes running on Windows 10 (https://gist.github.com/AdamLJohnson/16b55b66c84ce53868b3923f3b7ae706)
  • By Adam Johnson (https://github.com/AdamLJohnson)
  • Apprenda-led Team Preps Kubernetes to Manage Windows Containers (http://thenewstack.io/apprenda-led-team-preps-kubernetes-manage-windows-containers/?utm_content=buffer24d92&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer)
  • By Joab Jackson (https://twitter.com/Joab_Jackson)
  • KubeCon Recap – A Designer’s Perspective (https://apprenda.com/blog/kubecon-recap-designers-perspective/?utm_campaign=coschedule&utm_source=twitter&utm_medium=Apprenda&utm_content=KubeCon%20Recap%20%E2%80%93%20A%20Designer%27s%20Perspective)
  • By Dan Romlein (https://twitter.com/danielromlein)
  • Announcing Virtual Private Pipelines (http://blog.wercker.com/virtual-private-pipelines-has-arrived)
  • By Wayne Gibbins (https://twitter.com/waynegibbins)
  • Microsoft Azure’s Kubernetes support demonstrates growing importance of containers (http://www.techrepublic.com/article/microsoft-azures-kubernetes-support-demonstrates-growing-importance-of-containers/)
  • By Keith Townsend (https://twitter.com/CTOAdvisor)
  • Kubernetes is NOT Scary, Complex or Even Confusing (http://thenewstack.io/kubernetes-not-scary-complex-even-confusing/)
  • By Rob Hirschfeld (https://twitter.com/zehicle)
  • How did they ever come up with that kooky ‘Kubernetes’ name? Here’s the inside story (http://www.geekwire.com/2016/ever-come-kooky-kubernetes-name-heptio/)
  • By Dan Richman (https://twitter.com/danielarichman)
  • How Red Hat aims to make Kubernetes boring…and successful (http://www.techrepublic.com/article/how-red-hat-aims-to-make-kubernetes-boring-and-successful/)
  • By Matt Asay (https://twitter.com/mjasay)
  • Kubernetes founders launch Heptio with $8.5M in funding to help bring containers to the enterprise (https://techcrunch.com/2016/11/17/kubernetes-founders-launch-heptio-with-8-5m-in-funding-to-help-bring-containers-to-the-enterprise/?ncid=rss&utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+Techcrunch+%28TechCrunch%29&sr_share=twitter)
  • By Frederic Lardinois (https://twitter.com/fredericl)
  • Google cloud vets launch Kubernetes startup Heptio with $8.5 million (http://venturebeat.com/2016/11/17/heptio-funding/)
  • By Jordan Novet (https://twitter.com/jordannovet)
  • Early Stage Startup Heptio Aims to Make Kubernetes Friendly (http://www.eweek.com/cloud/early-stage-startup-heptio-aims-to-make-kubernetes-friendly.html)
  • By Sean Kerner (https://twitter.com/TechJournalist)
  • Kubernetes creators launch startup, take on Docker (http://www.infoworld.com/article/3142502/open-source-tools/kubernetes-creators-launch-startup-take-on-docker.html)
  • By Serdar Yegulalp (https://twitter.com/syegulalp)
  • Ex-Google execs who pioneered Kubernetes launch Heptio cloud tech startup with $8.5M investment (http://www.geekwire.com/2016/two-kubernetes-pioneers-launch-heptio-cloud-tech-startup-8-5m-investment/)
  • By Dan Richman (https://twitter.com/danielarichman)
  • Update to Kubernetes’ Helm Package Manager Could Simplify App Deployment (http://thenewstack.io/update-kubernetes-helm-package-manager-simplify-app-deployment/?utm_content=buffere776a&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer)
  • By Scott M. Fulton III (https://twitter.com/SMFulton3)
  • Helm 2.0 stable release! (https://deis.com/blog/2016/helm-is-now-stable/)
  • By Matt Butcher (https://twitter.com/@technosophos)
  • Containers Are The Future But The Future Isn’t Finished (http://www.forbes.com/sites/justinwarren/2016/11/16/containers-future-not-finished/?utm_content=buffer31b4e#330b7e2fc3f2)
  • By Justin Warren (https://twitter.com/jpwarren)
  • ShapeBlue Contributes Native Support For Kubernetes And Docker To Apache CloudStack (http://www.shapeblue.com/shapeblue-contributes-native-support-for-kubernetes-and-docker-to-apache-cloudstack/)
  • Kubernetes Founders Create Company, Heptio, to Bring Kubernetes and Containers to the Enterprise (http://blog.calsoftinc.com/industry_insights/kubernetes-founders-create-company-heptio-to-bring-kubernetes-and-containers-to-the-enterprise?source=techstories.org)

Presentations

  • Cloud Native Con / KubeCon 2016 (https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLj6h78yzYM2PqgIGU1Qmi8nY7dqn9PCr4)
  • Full list of all presentations and talks from Seattle, 2016
  • The Cloudcast #279 – Understanding Kubernetes Operators (http://www.thecloudcast.net/2016/11/the-cloudcast-279-understanding.html)
  • By Aaron Delp (https://twitter.com/aarondelp) & Brian Gracely (https://twitter.com/bgracely) ; talks with Brandon Phillips (https://twitter.com/BrandonPhilips) (CTO at CoreOS) about “Operators” and the evolving capabilities to help companies operate Kubernetes and manage the application around Kubernetes
  • Having fun with Robots using microservices on Docker and Kubernetes (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qo57xYCLzsc)
  • By Renze de Vries (https://twitter.com/renzedevries3) ; In this session we will have some fun and hook up a Nao Aldebaran robot and a Raspberry PI based robot to the cloud and let them interact with each other. We will do this using the latest technologies using a bunch of micro-services deployed as docker containers on a Kubernetes cluster running on AWS
  • Innovation at BBVA- Next Generation Overlay for Kubernetes and OpenStack (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QyGHZ2HCwqY)
  • By Alberto Morgante (https://twitter.com/alknopfler) & Fernando Alvarez (https://twitter.com/methadata) ; During this session BBVA’s innovation department will give an update on how it is transforming its OpenStack infrastructure to become fully containerized.
  • Kubernetes: What you need to know … and why (https://www.oreilly.com/ideas/kubernetes-what-you-need-to-know-and-why)
  • By Kelsey Hightower (https://twitter.com/kelseyhightower) ; a quick overview of Kubernetes—the community, the project, and the technology for managing containerized workloads from the O’Reilly Software Architecture Conference in San Francisco 2016
  • Nuage Networks DemoFriday: Container Networking in Kubernetes (https://www.sdxcentral.com/resources/sdn-demofriday/container-networking-kubernetes-nuage-networks/?utm_content=buffer2f628&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer)
  • Nuage Networks demonstrated container networking in Kubernetes environment.

Slideshare

  • From pets to cattle, the way of Kubernetes (https://speakerdeck.com/agonzalezro/from-pets-to-cattle-the-way-of-kubernetes)
  • By Alexandre González (https://twitter.com/agonzalezro) ; Containers are the past, orchestration of containers is the future. In this talk you are going to learn the basic definitions that you will find in a Kubernetes cluster and how to deploy your applications there.
  • Cloud Native Camel Design Patterns (http://www.slideshare.net/bibryam/cloud-native-camel-design-patterns)
  • By Bilgin Ibryam (https://twitter.com/bibryam) ; Tips for designing and running Apache Camel applications on Kubernetes environments.
  • From pets to cattle, the way of Kubernetes (https://github.com/agonzalezro/slides/tree/master/2016/codemotion_nov_2016)
  • By Álex González (https://twitter.com/agonzalezro) ; Containers are the past, orchestration of containers is the future. In this talk you are going to learn the basic definitions that you will find in a Kubernetes cluster and how to deploy your applications there.

Upcoming Events

  • Understanding Service Discovery (http://www.kube.live/)
  • November 23, Webinar
  • Kubernetes Training, Cisco Systems (https://www.eventbrite.com/e/kubernetes-training-portland-or-tickets-28530536603)
  • December 1, Portland
  • Daily development with Docker, Kubernetes, and OpenShift (https://www.redhat.com/en/about/events/daily-development-docker-kubernetes-and-openshift-0)
  • December 1, Webinar
  • Kubernetes for Developers and DevOps Professionals (http://www.meetup.com/Kubernetes-Philly/events/234829676/)
  • December 5, Philadelphia
  • Kubernetes for Java developers (https://www.meetup.com/virtualJUG/events/235298496/)
  • December 6, UK
  • Kubernetes – Hands-on Lab (3 hours) (http://www.meetup.com/GDG-Cloud-Belgium/events/235692657/?a=socialmedia)
  • December 6, Belgium
  • Nordstrom’s User Story & Advanced Scheduling in Kubernetes (http://www.meetup.com/Seattle-Kubernetes-Meetup/events/234710383/)
  • December 7, Seattle
  • Tectonic Summit (https://www.eventbrite.com/e/tectonic-summit-december-2016-new-york-city-tickets-27416398185)
  • December 12, NYC
  • Containing Chaos with Kubernetes (https://nomadphp.com/nomadphp-2017-01-us/)
  • January 19, Webinar
  • Container Camp AU (https://container.camp/au/2017/)
  • May 2017, Austrailia

Literature

  • Mastering CoreOS (https://www.amazon.com/Mastering-CoreOS-Sreenivas-Makam/dp/1785288121%3FSubscriptionId%3DAKIAJ2HQNLFCLUOUMLHQ%26tag%3Dzippylab-20%26linkCode%3Dsp1%26camp%3D2025%26creative%3D165953%26creativeASIN%3D1785288121&zpy=1)
  • By Sreenivas Makam (https://twitter.com/srmakam) ; This book covers the CoreOS internals and the technologies used in the deployment of container-based distributed applications

Swag

  • KUBERNETES NO SHOW SOCK (https://store.cncf.io/collections/kubernetes/products/kubernestes-no-show-sock)
  • The most comfortable sock on earth! The K8 no show sock is the ultimate fashion accessory and the most comfortable one you will ever wear. One size fits most.