The Headlines

Editor’s picks of the highlights from the past week.

2018 Steering Committee Election Results (https://kubernetes.io/blog/2018/10/15/2018-steering-committee-election-results/)
Jorge Castro, Heptio; Ihor Dvoretskyi, CNCF; Paris Pittman, Google

The Kubernetes Steering Committee Election is now complete and three candidates have secured two year terms. A huge thank you to the candidates that came forward to run for election. May we always have a strong set of people who want to push community forward like yours in every election. Click above to find out who was elected!

Testing Kubernetes RBAC (https://medium.com/yld-engineering-blog/testing-kubernetes-rbac-5e00dc93af8e)
Tom Gallacher, YLD

Kubernetes (as of version 1.6) has introduced the concept of Role-Based Access Control (RBAC). This means it is possible to create a user with limited access, allowing you to restrict access to resources such as Secrets, or by limiting access of that user to a specific Namespace. This post focuses on how to ensure your business’s compliance and requirements are actually being adhered to and to ensure that we need to test our applied RBAC objects, to ensure they do what we intend them to do

Using (https://leebriggs.co.uk/blog/2018/10/16/using-kubeless-for-kubernetes-events.html) Kubeless (https://leebriggs.co.uk/blog/2018/10/16/using-kubeless-for-kubernetes-events.html) for Kubernetes Events (https://leebriggs.co.uk/blog/2018/10/16/using-kubeless-for-kubernetes-events.html)
Lee Briggs, Apptio

Serverless computing is all the rage at the moment, and why wouldn’t it be? The idea of deploying code without having to worry about anything like servers, or that pesky infrastructure everyone complains about seems pretty appealing. This post takes a look at Kubeless, a serverless framework. In this walkthrough, you’ll learn how easy it is to get Kubernetes events (in this case, pod creations) and then use Kubeless to perform actions on them (like post to a slack channel).
New Webinar: Debugging and Monitoring your Kubernetes Services with Linkerd 2.0

William Morgan – Linkerd Core Maintainer
Ben Lambert – CTO, Just Football
October 24 @ 10:00 am – 11:00 am PDT
REGISTER NOW » (http://bit.ly/2NygTyH)

The Technical

Tutorials, tools, and more that take you on a deep dive into the code.
Topology-Aware Volume Provisioning in Kubernetes (https://kubernetes.io/blog/2018/10/11/topology-aware-volume-provisioning-in-kubernetes/)
Michelle Au, Google

Ballerina Channels (https://medium.com/@vinok88/ballerina-channels-af4908538411)
Vinod Kavinda, WSO2.inc.

Polyaxon, Argo and Seldon for model training, package and deployment in Kubernetes (https://danielfrg.com/blog/2018/10/model-management-polyaxon-argo-seldon/)
Daniel Rodriguez, Anaconda, Inc.

Set Up a CI/CD Pipeline with a Jenkins Pod in Kubernetes (Part 2) (https://www.linux.com/blog/learn/chapter/Intro-to-Kubernetes/2017/6/set-cicd-pipeline-jenkins-pod-kubernetes-part-2)
Craig Martin, Kenzan

Adopting Istio in Your Kubernetes Clusters (https://medium.com/uptime-99/adopting-istio-in-your-kubernetes-clusters-a3e28ed6f4b7)
Dave Konopka, ReactiveOps

Using Kubeflow for Analyzing Financial Time Series: Part I (https://blog.ml6.eu/using-kubeflow-for-analyzing-financial-time-series-part-i-18580ef5df0b)
Sven Degroote, ML6

Kubernetes: deploy Laravel the easy way (https://itnext.io/kubernetes-deploy-laravel-the-easy-way-c747b769939)
Keith Mifsud, LearnK8s

Customizing Kubernetes Logging (Part 1) (https://medium.com/google-cloud/customizing-kubernetes-logging-part-1-a1e5791dcda8)
Yuri Grinshteyn, Google Cloud

Manage ML Deployments Like A Boss: Deploy Your First AB Test With Sklearn, Kubernetes and Seldon-core using Only Your Web Browser & Google Cloud (https://medium.com/analytics-vidhya/manage-ml-deployments-like-a-boss-deploy-your-first-ab-test-with-sklearn-kubernetes-and-b10ae0819dfe)
Gus Cavanaugh, Anaconda, Inc.

Tooling Spotlight:

  • kubernetes (https://github.com/ynqa/kubernetes-rust) -rust (https://github.com/ynqa/kubernetes-rust) is a Rust client for the Kubernetes API
  • krew (https://github.com/GoogleContainerTools/krew) is a package manager for “kubectl plugins”

The Editorial

Articles, announcements, and more that give you a high-level overview of challenges and features.

Kubernetes 2018 North American Contributor Summit (https://kubernetes.io/blog/2018/10/16/kubernetes-2018-north-american-contributor-summit/)
Bob Killen, University of Michigan; Sahdev Zala, IBM; Ihor Dvoretskyi, CNCF

New in Fission: Live-Reload, Record-Replay, Canary Deployments, Prometheus Integration (https://blog.fission.io/posts/new-features-in-fission-for-quality-reliability/)
Soam Vasani, Platform9

GKE Container-Native Load Balancing, with Ines Envid and Neha Pattan (https://kubernetespodcast.com/episode/025-gke-container-native-load-balancing/)
Craig Box & Adam Glick, Google

An introduction to Ansible Operators in Kubernetes (https://opensource.com/article/18/10/ansible-operators-kubernetes)
Michael Hrivnak, Red Hat

Spinnaker: The Kubernetes of Continuous Delivery (https://www.linux.com/blog/2018/10/spinnaker-kubernetes-continuous-delivery)
Swapnil Bhartiya, TFiR.IO

DevOps is the new normal, (https://jaxenter.com/devops-cloudbees-labourey-interview-150556.html) cloud (https://jaxenter.com/devops-cloudbees-labourey-interview-150556.html) is the new infrastructure & Kubernetes is the new operating system (https://jaxenter.com/devops-cloudbees-labourey-interview-150556.html)
Dominik Mohilo, JAXenter

Kubernetes in the DevOps Space: Everything You Need to Know (https://dzone.com/articles/kubernetes-in-devops-space-everything-you-need-to?utm_medium=twitter&utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_campaign=Feed:%20dzone%2Fdevops)
Ankit Kumar, SPEC INDIA

6 charts take the confusion out of Kubernetes (https://www.ciodive.com/news/6-charts-take-the-confusion-out-of-kubernetes/539459/)
Alex Hickey, CIO Dive

Best practices and anti-patterns for containerized deployments (https://techbeacon.com/best-practices-anti-patterns-containerized-deployments)
Vamsi Chemitiganti, Platform9

Schedule Announced for Observability (https://opsummitna18.sched.com/) Practitioners (https://opsummitna18.sched.com/) Summit – Co-Located Alongside KubeCon + CloudNativeCon North America (https://opsummitna18.sched.com/)
CNCF

============================================================

KubeWeekly is curated by ** Bob Killen (https://twitter.com/MrBobbyTables)
, ** M (https://twitter.com/RSQuackenbush)
** ichael Hausenblas (https://twitter.com/mhausenblas)
and ** Kaitlyn Barnard (https://twitter.com/kaitlyn_barnard)