Technical

  • Continuous Deployment of Docker Apps to Kubernetes (https://blog.codeship.com/continuous-deployment-of-docker-apps-to-kubernetes/)
  • By Zachary Flower (https://twitter.com/zachflower)
  • A container networking overview (http://jvns.ca/blog/2016/12/22/container-networking/)
  • By Julia Evans (https://twitter.com/b0rk)
  • Exploring Kubernetes (https://blog.condi.me/exploring-kubernetes/)
  • By Ben Cordero (https://twitter.com/bencord0)
  • Pod tunnel infrastructure, allowing external IP ingress to pods (https://github.com/bluecmd/kube-service-tunnel)
  • By Christian Svensson (https://twitter.com/blueCmd)
  • Local Django on Kubernetes with Minikube (https://medium.com/google-cloud/local-django-on-kubernetes-with-minikube-89f5ad100378#.7mnyo7bcv)
  • By Bill Prin (https://twitter.com/waprin_io)
  • Cluster Federation in Kubernetes 1.5 (http://blog.kubernetes.io/2016/12/cluster-federation-in-kubernetes-1.5.html)
  • By Lukasz Guminski (https://twitter.com/lguminski) & Allan Naim (https://twitter.com/allannaim)
  • StatefulSet: Run and Scale Stateful Applications Easily in Kubernetes (http://blog.kubernetes.io/2016/12/statefulset-run-scale-stateful-applications-in-kubernetes.html)
  • By Kenneth Owens (https://twitter.com/kenowens12) & Eric Tune (https://github.com/erictune)
  • Introducing Container Runtime Interface (CRI) in Kubernetes (http://blog.kubernetes.io/2016/12/container-runtime-interface-cri-in-kubernetes.html)
  • By Yu-Ju Hong (https://github.com/yujuhong)
  • Kubernetes supports OpenAPI (http://blog.kubernetes.io/2016/12/kubernetes-supports-openapi.html)
  • By Mehdy Bohlool (https://twitter.com/mbohlool)
  • Auto-Scaling Kubernetes on DigitalOcean with Supergiant (https://supergiant.io/blog/how-to-auto-scaling-kubernetes-cluster-digitalocean)
  • By Brian Sage (https://twitter.com/briansage)
  • Installing Percona Monitoring and Management on Google Container Engine (Kubernetes) (https://www.percona.com/blog/2016/12/21/installing-percona-monitoring-management-google-container-engine-kubernetes/)
  • By Manjot Singh (https://twitter.com/manjotsingh)
  • Kubernetes Operational View – read-only system dashboard for multiple K8s clusters (https://github.com/hjacobs/kube-ops-view)
  • By Henning Jacobs (https://twitter.com/try_except_)
  • Enforcing cluster-wide policies for a Kubernetes-based Docker cluster (http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/library/l-Kubernetes-Docker-cluster-trs/index.html)
  • By Pradipta Kr Banerjee (https://twitter.com/pradipta_kr)
  • How to Setup up Kubernetes 1.5 with kubeadm on CentOS (http://linoxide.com/containers/setup-kubernetes-kubeadm-centos/)
  • By Mihajlo Milenovic

Blogs / Articles

  • Introducing Trident: A Dynamic Persistent Volume Provisioner for Kubernetes (http://netapp.io/2016/12/23/introducing-trident-dynamic-persistent-volume-provisioner-kubernetes/)
  • By Andrew Sullivan (https://twitter.com/andrew_ntap)
  • Kubernetes/AWS Networking for Dummies (like me) (https://medium.com/@anne_e_currie/kubernetes-aws-networking-for-dummies-like-me-b6dedeeb95f3#.sojm82eap)
  • By Anne E Currie (https://twitter.com/anne_e_currie)
  • Scale and Performance Testing of Kubernetes (https://www.mirantis.com/blog/scale-performance-testing-kubernetes-answers-specific-applications/)
  • By Georgy Okrokvertskhov (https://www.linkedin.com/in/georgy-okrokvertskhov-7a974225) & Aleksandr Shaposhnikov (https://twitter.com/alexshapo)
  • Windows Server Support Comes to Kubernetes (http://blog.kubernetes.io/2016/12/windows-server-support-kubernetes.html)
  • By Michael Michael (https://twitter.com/michmike77)
  • Are the barriers for container adoption too high for the enterprise? (http://blogs.ca.com/2016/12/21/high-barriers-to-container-adoption/?mrm=425878&cid=GLOB-SMM-ABUS-AAR-000002-00000571)
  • By Natasha Festa (https://www.linkedin.com/in/natashafesta)
  • 5 Node Nano ITX Kubernetes Tower (http://node.mu/2016/12/19/5-node-nano-itx-kubernetes-tower/?twitterID=nixCraft&utm_content=buffer8bfc7&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer)
  • By Vy-Shane Xie (https://twitter.com/vyshane/)
  • Staffjoy’s V2 Architecture (https://blog.staffjoy.com/staffjoys-v2-architecture-9d2fcb4015fd#.7wvvj9e4b)
  • By Philip Thomas (https://twitter.com/philipithomas)
  • CNCF Preps Kubernetes Program for MSPs (http://www.channelinsider.com/tech-companies/cncf-preps-kubernetes-program-for-msps.html)
  • By Mike Vizard (https://twitter.com/mvizard)
  • Ticketmaster Chooses Kubernetes to Stay Ahead of Competition (https://www.linux.com/news/learn/kubernetes/ticketmaster-chooses-kubernetes-stay-ahead-competition?utm_content=bufferbe50d&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer)
  • By Ian Murphy (https://twitter.com/journoian)
  • Univa’s Navops Command Works a Few Kinks Out of Kubernetes (http://thenewstack.io/univas-new-powerful-navops-command-working-kinks-kubernetes/)
  • By Michelle Gienow (https://twitter.com/michellegienow)

Presentations

  • Cloud Native Con / KubeCon 2016 (https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLj6h78yzYM2PqgIGU1Qmi8nY7dqn9PCr4)
  • Full list of all presentations and talks from Seattle, 2016
  • DevOps Day 2016 (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCJ5PElsUTlzmIe50z6BBxZg/videos)
  • Full list of all presentations and talks from Devops Day, 2016
  • Kubernetes Community 1.5 Retrospective 20161222 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gA3Q70vES3c)
  • This is the 1.5 retrospective edition. With retrospective notes here (http://bit.ly/k8s15retro)
  • 20161130 NYJavaSIG (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4JOqScfLvr0)
  • By Alessandro Petroni (https://www.linkedin.com/in/apetroni)
  • DrupalCon Dublin 2016 Containing Chaos with Kubernetes (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oYM4NsQHN3s)
  • By Terry Ryan (https://twitter.com/tpryan)
  • Kubernetes SIG-CLI Meeting 2016-12-21 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gVAXipYIjqY)
  • Kubernetes SIG-CLI planned the Roadmap for 2017 and priorities for Q1.
  • (Part I) Cloud-native container Ci/CD for Kubernetes with Artifactory (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o7NeTV7uUuA)
  • See how to setup a build, test, deploy pipeline using Jenkins and Artifactory. Once an image is ready to be rolled out, Artifactory can trigger a rolling-update deployment into a Kubernetes cluster without downtime – automatically!
  • Kubernetes Storage Special-Interest-Group (SIG) Meeting (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pMMAM6SNeeY)
  • Meeting Notes/Agenda (https://docs.google.com/document/d/1-8KEG8AjAgKznS9NFm3qWqkGyCHmvU6HVl0sk5hwoAE/edit?pageId=108285269991698277565#heading=h.z2244uqbk529) ; Find out more about the Storage SIG (https://github.com/kubernetes/community/tree/master/sig-storage)
  • Trident: A Dynamic Storage Provisioner for Kubernetes (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZhpmFLkplRQ)
  • Trident is an open source project which acts as an orchestrator and provisioning system for storage systems with the ability to integrate with Kubernetes 1.4+ persistent volume provisioning, as well as providing a REST interface, to enable the creation and management of storage resources on demand.
  • Container Orchestration w/ Kubernetes and OpenShift (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YIKG5VPlSKk)
  • Check out our discussion around Red Hat’s latest release of OpenShift and it’s intuitive easy to use user experience around easily scaling containers with kubernetes
  • Kubernetes multi-scheduler demo (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MqZCp0ZRFCE)
  • By Lachlan Evenson (https://twitter.com/LachlanEvenson) ; Live demo of running multiple schedulers on Kubernetes
  • Intro to Deploying Your Favorite Apps on Kubernetes (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bd8mXpFLUig)
  • Bitnami, Deis, Google and the Kubernetes community have been working on developing Helm, a tool for streamlining the deployment of containerized applications on Kubernetes. Bitnami currently offers a set of Helm packages, known as charts, to make it easy to deploy your favorite open source applications on Kubernetes with a single command.
  • kismatic chanuka (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ixNFhOI0Z_Y)
  • By Mark Abrams (https://twitter.com/AbramsMark) ; Build a 3D printed menorah. A metaphor for kismatic and kubernetes.

Slideshare

  • Tectonic Summit 2016: Managing 6 PB of Earth Imagery with Kubernetes (http://www.slideshare.net/CoreOS_Slides/tectonic-summit-2016-managing-6-pb-of-earth-imagery-with-kubernetes?qid=de958012-a1af-4cd7-920f-aee69be2fb7b&v=&b=&from_search=6)
  • Planet Labs’s Troy Toman (https://twitter.com/troytoman) shows how they’re using Kubernetes to run the infrastructure needed to manage and process petabytes of satellite imagery.
  • Introduction to Kubernetes (http://www.slideshare.net/vrbiyani/introduction-to-kubernetes-70258369?qid=de958012-a1af-4cd7-920f-aee69be2fb7b&v=&b=&from_search=5)
  • By Vishal Bayani (https://twitter.com/vishal_biyani) ; Presentation from the first meetup of Kubernetes Pune – introduction to Kubernetes
  • Tectonic Summit 2016: Networking for Kubernetes (http://www.slideshare.net/CoreOS_Slides/networking-for-kubernetes?qid=de958012-a1af-4cd7-920f-aee69be2fb7b&v=&b=&from_search=4)
  • By Sreekanth Pothanis (https://twitter.com/spothanis) ; Cloud Engineering, eBay shares a networking Kubernetes tale from the trenches.
  • Tectonic Summit 2016: Betting on Kubernetes (http://www.slideshare.net/CoreOS_Slides/betting-on-kubernetes?qid=de958012-a1af-4cd7-920f-aee69be2fb7b&v=&b=&from_search=3)
  • Joonas Bergius (https://twitter.com/joonas) , Engineering Manager at DigitalOcean, talks DigitalOcean’s journey from Kubernetes adoption to production.
  • Tectonic Summit 2016: Ticketmaster’s Public Cloud & Kubernetes Strategy (http://www.slideshare.net/CoreOS_Slides/ticketmasters-public-cloud-kubernetes-strategy?qid=de958012-a1af-4cd7-920f-aee69be2fb7b&v=&b=&from_search=2)
  • Justin Dean (https://twitter.com/justinmdean) , SVP, Platform and Technical Operations (TechOps) at Ticketmaster, discusses why CoreOS Tectonic.
  • Tectonic Summit 2016: Kubernetes 1.5 and Beyond (http://www.slideshare.net/CoreOS_Slides/kubernetes-15-and-beyond?qid=de958012-a1af-4cd7-920f-aee69be2fb7b&v=&b=&from_search=1)
  • David Aronchick (https://twitter.com/aronchick) , Senior Product Manager, Google, talks about Kubernetes 1.5 and beyond.
  • Cloud Software Hosting Services at ausnimbus.com.au (http://www.slideshare.net/ausnimbus/cloud-software-hosting-services-at-ausnimbuscomau?qid=de958012-a1af-4cd7-920f-aee69be2fb7b&v=&b=&from_search=21)
  • At Ausnimbus.com.au, you can find the top Docker cloud software hosting PaaS providers in Australia
  • Highly Available And Distributed Containers – ContainerCon NA 2016 (http://www.slideshare.net/EMCCODE/highly-available-and-distributed-containers-containercon-na-2016?qid=de958012-a1af-4cd7-920f-aee69be2fb7b&v=&b=&from_search=19)
  • By Kendrick Coleman (https://twitter.com/KendrickColeman) ; This presentation was delivered at ContainerCon North America 2016 that was held in Toronto. This talk examines the history of Docker Swarm and libNetwork and Storage to see how the increased complexity in the container ecosystem is actually simplified over time.
  • Tectonic Summit 2016: Preparing for Cloud Native (http://www.slideshare.net/CoreOS_Slides/preparing-for-cloud-native-70283102?qid=de958012-a1af-4cd7-920f-aee69be2fb7b&v=&b=&from_search=17)
  • By Al Gillen (https://twitter.com/algillen) ; Group Vice President, Software Development and Open Source, shares research about how to prepare for the cloud-native era.
  • Docker meetup 2012106: Introduction à Rancher (http://www.slideshare.net/rzarouali/docker-meetup-2012106-introduction-rancher?qid=de958012-a1af-4cd7-920f-aee69be2fb7b&v=&b=&from_search=16)
  • By Rachid Zarouali (https://twitter.com/xinity) ; Rancher est un outil développé par RancherLabs, qui a pour objectif de simplifier le déploiement et l’administration d’infrastructure basée sur Docker.
  • Tectonic Summit 2016 Keynote (http://www.slideshare.net/CoreOS_Slides/tuesday-keynote?qid=de958012-a1af-4cd7-920f-aee69be2fb7b&v=&b=&from_search=13)
  • Brandon Philips (https://twitter.com/BrandonPhilips) talks about advancing Kubernetes, etcd, rkt and more at CoreOS.
  • Tectonic Summit 2016 Keynote (http://www.slideshare.net/CoreOS_Slides/announcements-70283107?qid=de958012-a1af-4cd7-920f-aee69be2fb7b&v=&b=&from_search=15)
  • Alex Polvi (https://twitter.com/polvi) reveals self-driving Kubernetes.
  • Tectonic Summit 2016: Multitenant Data Architectures with Kubernetes (http://www.slideshare.net/CoreOS_Slides/multitenant-data-architectures-with-kubernetes?qid=de958012-a1af-4cd7-920f-aee69be2fb7b&v=&b=&from_search=7)
  • Paul Brown (https://twitter.com/paulrbrown) walks through multitenant data architectures with Kubernetes.

Upcoming Events

  • January Go Israel Meetup: Building a Bank using Go and Kubernetes (https://www.meetup.com/Go-Israel/events/234316287/)
  • January 4, Tel Aviv-Yafo
  • Charlotte Kubernetes Meetup (https://www.meetup.com/Kubernetes-Charlotte/events/232758705/)
  • January 4, Charlotte
  • Learn about Kubernetes 1.5 Highlights (https://www.meetup.com/Nashville-Kubernetes-Meetup/events/234976094/)
  • January 5, Nashville
  • Apache Mesos & CNCF meetup Part 2 (https://www.meetup.com/Bangalore-Mesos-cncf-User-Group/events/235300516/)
  • January 7, Bangalore
  • Self-hosted, Scale, and Federation with Kubernetes v1.4 and Beyond (https://www.meetup.com/hyderabad-scalability/events/236398517/)
  • January 7, Hyderabad
  • Intermediate Kubernetes: What are Customers Doing With Kubernetes? (https://www.meetup.com/GCPonline/events/235941976/)
  • January 10, Mountain View
  • Running containers on AWS and Google Cloud (https://www.meetup.com/Hamburg-Kubernetes-Meetup/events/236333341/)
  • January 10, Hamburg
  • A brave new year with Kubernetes (https://www.meetup.com/Software-Circus/events/235876646/)
  • January 10, Amsterdam
  • DevOps & Docker & Cloud Computing Meetup #2 (https://www.meetup.com/hannover-devops/events/236402230/?utm_campaign=PostBeyond&utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Twitter&utm_term=%238702)
  • January 18, Hannover
  • Containing Chaos with Kubernetes (https://nomadphp.com/nomadphp-2017-01-us/)
  • January 19, Webinar
  • Cloud Native/ Kubernetes 101 Roadshow (https://www.eventbrite.com/e/cloud-native-kubernetes-101-roadshow-seattle-tickets-29477083751)
  • January 25, Seattle
  • KubeCon / Cloud Native Con EU (http://events.linuxfoundation.org/events/cloudnativecon-and-kubecon-europe/program/cfp)
  • March 29-30, Berlin
  • Kubernetes Hands-On, OSCON (http://conferences.oreilly.com/oscon/oscon-tx/public/schedule/grid/public)
  • May 8-11, Austin
  • Cluster EU (https://clustereurope.org/)
  • May 15, Paris
  • Container Camp AU (https://container.camp/au/2017/)
  • May 2017, Austrailia

Literature

  • Kubernetes: Up and Running: Dive into the Future of Infrastructure (http://www.savingexpert.info/2016/11/24/10-kubernetes-up-and-running-dive-into-the-future-of-infrastructure-6/)
  • By Kelsey Hightower (https://twitter.com/kelseyhightower) ; This practical book will prepare you to take advantage of everything the Kubernetes platform has to offer.
  • Kubernetes Microservices with Docker (https://www.amazon.com/Kubernetes-Microservices-Docker-Vohra-ebook/dp/B01FXJ9OB8%3FSubscriptionId%3DAKIAJ2HQNLFCLUOUMLHQ%26tag%3Dzippylab-20%26linkCode%3Dsp1%26camp%3D2025%26creative%3D165953%26creativeASIN%3DB01FXJ9OB8&zpy=1)
  • By Vohra (https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=dp_byline_sr_ebooks_1?ie=UTF8&text=Vohra&search-alias=digital-text&field-author=Vohra&sort=relevancerank) ; This book on Kubernetes, the container cluster manager, discusses all aspects of using Kubernetes in today’s complex big data and enterprise applications, including Docker containers.
  • Deploying Rails with Docker, Kubernetes and ECS (https://www.amazon.com/Deploying-Rails-Docker-Kubernetes-ECS/dp/1484224140%3FSubscriptionId%3DAKIAJ2HQNLFCLUOUMLHQ%26tag%3Dzippylab-20%26linkCode%3Dsp1%26camp%3D2025%26creative%3D165953%26creativeASIN%3D1484224140&zpy=1)
  • By Pablo Acuña (https://twitter.com/pabloacunar) ; shows you how to set up the project, push it to DockerHub, manage services and set up an efficient continuous integration environment.
  • Kubernetes Management Design Patterns: With Docker, CoreOS Linux, and Other Platforms (https://www.amazon.com/Kubernetes-Management-Design-Patterns-Platforms/dp/148422597X%3FSubscriptionId%3DAKIAJ2HQNLFCLUOUMLHQ%26tag%3Dzippylab-20%26linkCode%3Dsp1%26camp%3D2025%26creative%3D165953%26creativeASIN%3D148422597X&zpy=1)
  • By Vohra (https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=dp_byline_sr_ebooks_1?ie=UTF8&text=Vohra&search-alias=digital-text&field-author=Vohra&sort=relevancerank) ; The atomic unit of modular container service in Kubernetes is a Pod, which is a group of containers with a common filesystem and networking. The Kubernetes Pod abstraction enables design patterns for containerized applications similar to object-oriented design patterns. Containers provide some of the same benefits as software objects such as modularity or packaging, abstraction, and reuse
  • Technical Guide to Creating and Accessing a Kubernetes Cluster on OpenStack (https://content.mirantis.com/Kubernetes-on-OpenStack-eBook-Landing-Page.html?utm_campaign=Kubernetes&utm_content=39244676&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter)
  • As Kubernetes gains popularity, many people are asking: “How can Kubernetes and OpenStack be used together?” In this eBook, get a technical walkthrough on how to deploy Kubernetes on OpenStack and start running containerized apps on your Kubernetes cluster.
  • Kubernetes Management Design Patterns: With Docker, CoreOS Linux, and Other Platforms 1st ed. Edition (https://www.amazon.com/Kubernetes-Management-Design-Patterns-Platforms/dp/148422597X%3FSubscriptionId%3DAKIAJ2HQNLFCLUOUMLHQ%26tag%3Dzippylab-20%26linkCode%3Dsp1%26camp%3D2025%26creative%3D165953%26creativeASIN%3D148422597X&zpy=1)
  • Take container cluster management to the next level; learn how to administer and configure Kubernetes on CoreOS; and apply suitable management design patterns such as Configmaps, Autoscaling, elastic resource usage, and high availability. Some of the other features discussed are logging, scheduling, rolling updates, volumes, service types, and multiple cloud provider zones.

Swag

  • ALL KUBERNETES SWAG (https://store.cncf.io/collections/kubernetes)
  • The most comfortable clothes on earth!