Technical

  • Federating Your Kubernetes Clusters — The New Road to Hybrid Clouds (https://www.linux.com/learn/federating-your-kubernetes-clusters-new-road-hybrid-clouds?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter)
  • By Sebastien Goasguen (https://twitter.com/sebgoa)
  • Kubernetes: Simulating a network partition (https://www.javacodegeeks.com/2016/12/kubernetes-simulating-network-partition.html?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter)
  • By Mark Needham (https://twitter.com/markhneedham)
  • Container management with Kubernetes: Practical Example (https://blog.zhaw.ch/icclab/container-management-with-kubernetes-practical-example/)
  • By Manuel Ramirez Lopez (https://www.linkedin.com/in/manuel-ram%C3%ADrez-l%C3%B3pez-6974745a)
  • Continuous containers on kubernetes (https://distelli.engineering/kubernetes-ci-cd-with-docker-and-node-2ac29cf48b2b#.9k84mz45l)
  • By Sam Heutmaker (https://www.linkedin.com/in/samheutmaker?trk=pub-pbmap)
  • Minikube v0.13.0 (https://github.com/kubernetes/minikube/releases/tag/v0.13.0)
  • Kubernetes resource graphing with Heapster, InfluxDB and Grafana (http://agiletesting.blogspot.com/2016/11/kubernetes-resource-graphing-with.html)
  • By Grig Gheorghiu (https://twitter.com/griggheo)
  • NATS cluster on top of Kubernetes made easy. (https://github.com/pires/kubernetes-nats-cluster?utm_content=buffer3bbbb&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer)
  • By Paulo Pires (https://twitter.com/el_ppires)
  • Monitoring Kubernetes performance metrics (https://www.datadoghq.com/blog/monitoring-kubernetes-performance-metrics/?utm_content=buffer72167&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer)
  • By Jean-Mathieu Saponaro (https://twitter.com/JMSaponaro)
  • Deploy Kubernetes as a service on Photon Controller v1.1 (http://cormachogan.com/2016/11/29/deploy-kubernetes-as-a-service-on-photon-controller-v1-1/)
  • By Cormac Hogan (https://twitter.com/CormacJHogan)
  • Kompose Up for OpenShift and Kubernetes (http://dustymabe.com/2016/12/01/kompose-up-for-openshift-and-kubernetes/)
  • By Dusty Mabe (https://twitter.com/dustymabe)
  • Firmament: Fast, centralized cluster scheduling at scale (https://blog.acolyer.org/2016/11/30/firmament-fast-centralized-cluster-scheduling-at-scale/)
  • By Adrian Colyer (https://twitter.com/adriancolyer)
  • Solving Resource Heterogeneity with Kubernetes Third Party Resources (https://medium.com/@jeffzzq/solving-resource-heterogeneity-with-kubernetes-third-party-resources-85fca48b3487#.28efrn9s0)
  • By Jeff Gensler (https://twitter.com/jeffzzq)

Blogs / Articles

  • How Google is Challenging AWS (https://stratechery.com/2016/how-google-cloud-platform-is-challenging-aws/)
  • By Ben Thompson (https://twitter.com/benthompson)
  • Containers in Production – Is Security a Barrier? A Dataset from Anchore (https://redmonk.com/fryan/2016/12/01/containers-in-production-is-security-a-barrier-a-dataset-from-anchore/)
  • By Fintan Ryan (https://twitter.com/fintanr)
  • Mirantis Launches First Vendor-Agnostic Kubernetes and Docker Certification (https://www.mirantis.com/company/press-center/mirantis-launches-first-vendor-agnostic-kubernetes-docker-certification/)
  • By Sarah Bennett (https://www.linkedin.com/in/sarahbennettpr)
  • Good Blog Post (https://medium.com/@jstrachan/good-blog-post-790ea68f57b6#.oeduzoyq2)
  • By James Strachan (https://twitter.com/jstrachan)
  • How Kubernetes and Mesos are solving the future of Abstraction – PART 1 OF 3 (http://discoposse.com/2016/11/27/how-kubernetes-and-mesos-are-solving-the-future-of-abstraction-part-1-of-3/?utm_source=ReviveOldPost&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=ReviveOldPost)
  • By Eric Wright (https://twitter.com/DiscoPosse)
  • On Running your Local Development Environment in Kubernetes (http://blog.giantswarm.stfi.re/on-running-your-local-development-environment-in-kubernetes/?sf=aoyynkk)
  • By Joe Salisbury (https://twitter.com/salisbury_joe)
  • Kontena Goes ‘1.0’ With Its Kubernetes Alternative for Containers (https://www.sdxcentral.com/articles/news/kontena-goes-1-0-kubernetes-alternative-containers/2016/11/)
  • By Craig Matsumoto (https://twitter.com/craigmatsumoto)
  • Eight Ways to Keep Kubernetes Growing Fast and Strong (http://thenewstack.io/eight-ways-keep-kubernetes-growing-fast-strong/)
  • By Rob Hirschfeld (https://twitter.com/zehicle)
  • SUSE to Acquire HPE’s OpenStack, Cloud Foundry Portfolio, Boost Kubernetes Investment (http://thenewstack.io/suse-add-hpes-openstack-cloud-foundry-portfolio-boost-kubernetes-investment/)
  • By Scott M. Fulton III (https://twitter.com/SMFulton3)
  • Cluster Native Kubernetes – Introducing the Operators (http://www.stratoscale.com/blog/kubernetes/cluster-native-kubernetes-introducing-operators/)
  • By Esther Levine (https://twitter.com/estherlevine14)
  • Powering NFV, Kubernetes integration, and more OpenStack news (https://opensource.com/article/16/12/openstack-news-december-5)
  • By Jason Baker (https://twitter.com/jehb)

Presentations

  • Cloud Native Con / KubeCon 2016 (https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLj6h78yzYM2PqgIGU1Qmi8nY7dqn9PCr4)
  • Full list of all presentations and talks from Seattle, 2016
  • Nuage Networks DemoFriday: Container Networking in Kubernetes (https://www.sdxcentral.com/resources/sdn-demofriday/container-networking-kubernetes-nuage-networks/?utm_content=buffer5422c&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer)
  • In this DemoFriday presentation, Nuage Networks demonstrated container networking in Kubernetes environment
  • DevOps Day 2016 (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCJ5PElsUTlzmIe50z6BBxZg/videos)
  • Full list of all presentations and talks from Devops Day, 2016
  • Kubernetes SIG Service Catalog 20161128 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CiWGBfP97zg)
  • SIG service-catalog meets to discuss next steps after the code drop to the incubator repo.
  • Powering Microservices with Docker, Kubernetes, Kafka and MongoDB (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F_BuRIAnvqE)
  • From this session by Andrew Morgan (https://twitter.com/andrewmorgan) at MongoDB Europe 2016, he introduces you to technologies such as Docker, Kubernetes & Kafka which are driving the microservices revolution.
  • Building a microservices environment (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b-gqdSB2zYY&t=8s)
  • By Daniel Bryant (https://twitter.com/danielbryantuk) ; begins by looking at deployment techniques and tools and examines where to test (QA, staging, or production), how to test (integration and contracts), and how to separate deployment and release. It then discusses orchestration, configuration, and service discovery. Finally it looks at essential glue such as logging, monitoring, and alerting
  • KubeCast Episode 05 – Interview With David O’Dwyer (https://www.kubecast.com/episode05/)
  • By Ivan Pedrazas (https://twitter.com/ipedrazas) & Milos Gadjos (https://twitter.com/milos) ; During this interview, we talked about the origins of the Kubernetes London Meetup. We talked about KubeCon, and the CNCF conference that happened in Seattle recently. David (https://twitter.com/davidodwyer) has built an Alexa-kubernetes integration and we tested it live. Last but not least, we talked about the super awesome Kubernetes Community! The longest episode so far, but one of the best ones!

Slideshare

  • CI/CD with Kubernetes, Helm & Wercker (http://www.slideshare.net/Diacode/cicd-with-kubernetes-helm-wercker-madscalability)
  • By Javier Cuetas (https://twitter.com/javier_dev) ; Slides for talk at #madScalability meetup
  • Nuage Networks DemoFriday: Container Networking in Kubernetes with Nuage Networks (http://www.slideshare.net/nuage-networks/nuage-networks-demofriday-container-networking-in-kubernetes-with-nuage-networks)
  • By Harmeet Sahni (https://twitter.com/sahni_harmeet) & Aniket Bhat (https://twitter.com/anbhat) ; In this Demo Friday presentation, Nuage Networks will demonstrate networking for containers in a Kubernetes environment
  • PaaS is dead, Long live PaaS (http://www.slideshare.net/brendandburns/paas-is-dead-long-live-paas-defrag-2016)
  • By Brendan Burns (https://twitter.com/brendandburns) ; An exploration of the future of PaaS platforms in a container world, where PaaS is layed on orchestrators like Kubernetes/DCOS or Swarm.

Upcoming Events

  • Kubernetes for Developers and DevOps Professionals (http://www.meetup.com/Kubernetes-Philly/events/234829676/)
  • December 5, Philadelphia
  • Kubernetes for Java developers (https://www.meetup.com/virtualJUG/events/235298496/)
  • December 6, UK
  • Kubernetes – Hands-on Lab (3 hours) (http://www.meetup.com/GDG-Cloud-Belgium/events/235692657/?a=socialmedia)
  • December 6, Belgium
  • DIY DevOps: Deis & Kubernetes PaaS (https://www.meetup.com/YYC-Rb/events/235296503/)
  • December 6, Calgary
  • Nordstrom’s User Story & Advanced Scheduling in Kubernetes (http://www.meetup.com/Seattle-Kubernetes-Meetup/events/234710383/)
  • December 7, Seattle
  • GeekNight: Konjuring Kontainers with Kubernetes (https://www.meetup.com/hyderabad-scalability/events/235667293/)
  • December 7, Hyderabad
  • Charlotte Kubernetes Meetup (https://www.meetup.com/Kubernetes-Charlotte/events/232758695/)
  • December 7, Charlotte
  • Nordstrom’s User Story & Advanced Scheduling in Kubernetes (https://www.meetup.com/Seattle-Kubernetes-Meetup/events/234710383/)
  • December 7, Seattle
  • Why CIOs Must Care About Containers (https://apprenda.com/event/cio-must-care-containers/?utm_campaign=coschedule&utm_source=twitter&utm_medium=Apprenda&utm_content=Why%20The%20CIO%20Must%20Care%20About%20Containers)
  • December 8, Webinar
  • Kubernetes Deployment Models (https://www.meetup.com/Bay-Area-Kubernetes-Meetup/events/235765474/)
  • December 8, Mountain View
  • Kubernetes Bangalore Meetup (https://www.meetup.com/kubernetes-openshift-India-Meetup/events/235727421/)
  • December 10, Bangalore
  • Apache Mesos & CNCF meetup Part 2 (https://www.meetup.com/Bangalore-Mesos-cncf-User-Group/events/235300516/)
  • December 10, Bangalore
  • Tectonic Summit (https://www.eventbrite.com/e/tectonic-summit-december-2016-new-york-city-tickets-27416398185)
  • December 12-13, NYC
  • Learn about Kubernetes 1.5 Highlights (https://www.meetup.com/Nashville-Kubernetes-Meetup/events/234976094/)
  • December 13, Nashville
  • Social with Go and Kubernetes Meetups at Torched Hop Brewing (https://www.meetup.com/Docker-Atlanta/events/235735916/)
  • December 13, Atlanta
  • TechForward Kubernetes Webinar (http://tovmug.com/techforward-kubernetes-webinar-1214/)
  • December 14, Webinar
  • Containing Chaos with Kubernetes (https://nomadphp.com/nomadphp-2017-01-us/)
  • January 19, Webinar
  • Kubernetes Hands-On, OSCON (http://conferences.oreilly.com/oscon/oscon-tx/public/schedule/grid/public)
  • May 8-11, Austin
  • Container Camp AU (https://container.camp/au/2017/)
  • May 2017, Austrailia

Literature

  • Kubernetes: Up and Running: Dive into the Future of Infrastructure (http://www.savingexpert.info/2016/11/24/10-kubernetes-up-and-running-dive-into-the-future-of-infrastructure-6/)
  • By Kelsey Hightower (https://twitter.com/kelseyhightower) ; This practical book will prepare you to take advantage of everything the Kubernetes platform has to offer.
  • Kubernetes Microservices with Docker (https://www.amazon.com/Kubernetes-Microservices-Docker-Vohra-ebook/dp/B01FXJ9OB8%3FSubscriptionId%3DAKIAJ2HQNLFCLUOUMLHQ%26tag%3Dzippylab-20%26linkCode%3Dsp1%26camp%3D2025%26creative%3D165953%26creativeASIN%3DB01FXJ9OB8&zpy=1)
  • By Vohra (https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=dp_byline_sr_ebooks_1?ie=UTF8&text=Vohra&search-alias=digital-text&field-author=Vohra&sort=relevancerank) ; This book on Kubernetes, the container cluster manager, discusses all aspects of using Kubernetes in today’s complex big data and enterprise applications, including Docker containers.
  • Deploying Rails with Docker, Kubernetes and ECS (https://www.amazon.com/Deploying-Rails-Docker-Kubernetes-ECS/dp/1484224140%3FSubscriptionId%3DAKIAJ2HQNLFCLUOUMLHQ%26tag%3Dzippylab-20%26linkCode%3Dsp1%26camp%3D2025%26creative%3D165953%26creativeASIN%3D1484224140&zpy=1)
  • By Pablo Acuña (https://twitter.com/pabloacunar) ; shows you how to set up the project, push it to DockerHub, manage services and set up an efficient continuous integration environment.
  • Kubernetes Management Design Patterns: With Docker, CoreOS Linux, and Other Platforms (https://www.amazon.com/Kubernetes-Management-Design-Patterns-Platforms/dp/148422597X%3FSubscriptionId%3DAKIAJ2HQNLFCLUOUMLHQ%26tag%3Dzippylab-20%26linkCode%3Dsp1%26camp%3D2025%26creative%3D165953%26creativeASIN%3D148422597X&zpy=1)
  • By Vohra (https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=dp_byline_sr_ebooks_1?ie=UTF8&text=Vohra&search-alias=digital-text&field-author=Vohra&sort=relevancerank) ; The atomic unit of modular container service in Kubernetes is a Pod, which is a group of containers with a common filesystem and networking. The Kubernetes Pod abstraction enables design patterns for containerized applications similar to object-oriented design patterns. Containers provide some of the same benefits as software objects such as modularity or packaging, abstraction, and reuse

Swag

  • KUBERNETES NO SHOW SOCK (https://store.cncf.io/collections/kubernetes/products/kubernestes-no-show-sock)
  • The most comfortable sock on earth! The K8 no show sock is the ultimate fashion accessory and the most comfortable one you will ever wear. One size fits most.