Technical

  • Kompose: a tool to go from Docker-compose to Kubernetes (http://blog.kubernetes.io/2016/11/kompose-tool-go-from-docker-compose-to-kubernetes.html)
  • By Sebastien Goasguen (https://twitter.com/sebgoa)
  • Kubernetes: Writing Hostname to a File (http://www.markhneedham.com/blog/2016/11/22/kubernetes-writing-hostname-to-a-file/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+MarkNeedham+%28Mark+Needham%29)
  • By Mark Needham (https://twitter.com/markhneedham)
  • High Performance Read API on Kubernetes using Redis (http://labs.unacast.com/2016/11/22/high-performance-read-api/)
  • By Ken Grønnbeck (https://twitter.com/gronnbeck)
  • Using a private Docker Registry with Kubernetes (https://blog.cloudhelix.io/using-a-private-docker-registry-with-kubernetes-f8d5f6b8f646#.hx4yh8y7o)
  • By James Leavers (https://twitter.com/cloudhelix)
  • This is an executor for the Screwdriver CD solution that interacts with Kubernetes. (https://www.npmjs.com/package/screwdriver-executor-k8s)
  • By St. John Johnson (https://twitter.com/stjohnjohnson)
  • NGINX and NGINX Plus Ingress Controllers for Kubernetes (https://github.com/nginxinc/kubernetes-ingress)
  • By Michael Pleshakov (https://github.com/pleshakov)
  • First release of kubernetes python client (https://github.com/kubernetes-incubator/client-python/releases/tag/v1.0.0-alpha.2)
  • By Mehdy Bohlool (https://twitter.com/mbohlool)
  • $15 Production Kubernetes Cluster on DigitalOcean (https://5pi.de/2016/11/20/15-producation-grade-kubernetes-cluster/)
  • By Johannes ‘fish’ Ziemke (https://twitter.com/discordianfish)
  • Running an application using Kubernetes on AWS (http://agiletesting.blogspot.com/2016/11/running-application-using-kubernetes-on.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+mottestingfeeds+%28Testing+Feeds+-+Bloggers%29)
  • By Grig Gheorghiu (https://twitter.com/griggheo)
  • Kubernetes: Spinning up a Neo4j 3.1 Causal Cluster (https://www.javacodegeeks.com/2016/11/kubernetes-spinning-neo4j-3-1-causal-cluster.html)
  • By Mark Needham (https://twitter.com/markhneedham)
  • Helm: The Kubernetes Package Manager (https://www.linux.com/learn/helm-kubernetes-package-manager)
  • By Sebastien Goasguen (https://twitter.com/sebgoa)

Blogs / Articles

  • The coming of the Kubernetes distributions (http://www.morethanseven.net/2016/11/23/the-coming-of-the-kubernetes-distributions/)
  • By Gareth Rushgrove (https://twitter.com/garethr)
  • Kubernetes the Hard Way Made Easier (https://cyberroadie.wordpress.com/2016/11/23/kubernetes-the-hard-way-made-easier/)
  • By Olivier Van Acker (https://twitter.com/cyberroadie)
  • How Kubernetes and Mesos are Solving the Future of Abstraction – Part 1 of 3 (http://discoposse.com/2016/11/27/how-kubernetes-and-mesos-are-solving-the-future-of-abstraction-part-1-of-3/)
  • By Eric Wright (https://twitter.com/DiscoPosse)
  • Kubernetes in virtual reality: Building the K8s VR experience (https://medium.com/@iamnayr/building-the-kubernetes-virtual-reality-experience-b681464f0c98#.wmhc049ba)
  • By Ryan van Niekerk (https://twitter.com/iamnayr)
  • Samsung SDS Formalizes Kubernetes Commitment (http://vmblog.com/archive/2016/11/22/samsung-sds-formalizes-kubernetes-commitment.aspx#.WDuJmKIrK8U)
  • By David Marshall (https://twitter.com/vmblog)
  • The Benefits of Kubernetes, According to Red Hat (http://containerjournal.com/2016/11/23/benefits-kubernetes-according-red-hat/)
  • By Christopher Tozzi (https://twitter.com/SweetCodeHQ)
  • Who Would Win in a Fight Between Kubernetes and ECS? (https://medium.com/@anne_e_currie/who-would-win-in-a-fight-between-kubernetes-and-ecs-ee47ac782342#.q6xtqdfak)
  • By Anne Currie (https://twitter.com/anne_e_currie)

Presentations

  • Cloud Native Con / KubeCon 2016 (https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLj6h78yzYM2PqgIGU1Qmi8nY7dqn9PCr4)
  • Full list of all presentations and talks from Seattle, 2016
  • TNS Analysts Thanksgiving Special: The Evolution of Kubernetes and the Container Ecosystem (http://thenewstack.io/tns-analysts-thanksgiving-special-evolution-kubernetes-container-ecosystem/)
  • By Kiran Oliver (https://twitter.com/koliver_writes) ; On a special Thanksgiving episode of The New Stack Analysts podcast, Cisco Cloud Native Platforms Chief Technology Officer Ken Owens (https://www.linkedin.com/in/kenowens12) spoke with TNS founder Alex Williams (https://twitter.com/alexwilliams) , alongside The New Stack editorial team of Joab Jackson (https://twitter.com/Joab_Jackson) , Lawrence Hecht (https://twitter.com/LawrenceHecht) , Benjamin Ball (https://twitter.com/benballjr) , and Scott M. Fulton III (https://twitter.com/SMFulton3) , to discuss how Kubernetes and the container ecosystem can not only evolve, but thrive, as customers embrace the many benefits that cloud-native software development practices offer
  • Building a Kubernetes Cluster with Ansible (http://res.cdn.sys-con.com/session/3181/Patrick_Galbraith.pdf)
  • By Patrick Galbraith (https://twitter.com/CaptTofu) ; In his session at DevOpsSummit, principal engineer at HPE, discussed how to build a fully functional Kubernetes cluster on a number of virtual machines or bare-metal hosts.
  • Kubernetes +Travis CI (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PFTYH09CXPs)
  • By Andrii Omelianenko (https://www.linkedin.com/in/andrii-omelianenko) ; With modern web services, users expect applications to be available 24/7, and developers expect to deploy new versions of those applications several times a day. Containerization helps package software to serve these goals, enabling applications to be released and updated in an easy and fast way without downtime
  • Microlessons by the Container Brothers Episode 1: Containerizing An Existing Application (https://apprenda.com/blog/microlessons-container-brothers-episode-1-containerizing-existing-application/?utm_campaign=coschedule&utm_source=twitter&utm_medium=Apprenda&utm_content=Microlessons%20by%20the%20Container%20Brothers%20Episode%201:%20Containerizing%20An%20Existing%20Application)
  • By Michael Michael (https://twitter.com/michmike77) & Erik Lustgarten (https://twitter.com/elustgarten) ; a new series called “Microlessons by the Container Brothers.” In the first episode, we dive into containerizing new and existing applications with Apprenda

Slideshare

  • The Lean Cloud The Need for Multi-Cloud DevOps (http://res.cdn.sys-con.com/session/3371/Val_Bercovici.pdf)
  • By Val Bercovici (https://twitter.com/valb00) ; In his session at DevOpsSummit, the CTO of SolidFire, discussed how to leverage this concept to seize on the creativity and business agility to make it real.
  • Kubernetes and lastminute.com: our course towards better scalability and processes (http://www.slideshare.net/micheleorsi/kubernetes-and-lastminutecom-our-course-towards-better-scalability-and-processes)
  • By Michele Orsi (https://twitter.com/micheleorsi)

Upcoming Events

  • Meetup #4: Container options with Azure platform, and Building Serverless App (https://www.meetup.com/Container-Developers-Meetup-Bangalore/events/234942045/)
  • December 3, Bangalore
  • Kubernetes for Developers and DevOps Professionals (http://www.meetup.com/Kubernetes-Philly/events/234829676/)
  • December 5, Philadelphia
  • Kubernetes for Java developers (https://www.meetup.com/virtualJUG/events/235298496/)
  • December 6, UK
  • Kubernetes – Hands-on Lab (3 hours) (http://www.meetup.com/GDG-Cloud-Belgium/events/235692657/?a=socialmedia)
  • December 6, Belgium
  • DIY DevOps: Deis & Kubernetes PaaS (https://www.meetup.com/YYC-Rb/events/235296503/)
  • December 6, Calgary
  • Nordstrom’s User Story & Advanced Scheduling in Kubernetes (http://www.meetup.com/Seattle-Kubernetes-Meetup/events/234710383/)
  • December 7, Seattle
  • GeekNight: Konjuring Kontainers with Kubernetes (https://www.meetup.com/hyderabad-scalability/events/235667293/)
  • December 7, Hyderabad
  • Charlotte Kubernetes Meetup (https://www.meetup.com/Kubernetes-Charlotte/events/232758695/)
  • December 7, Charlotte
  • Nordstrom’s User Story & Advanced Scheduling in Kubernetes (https://www.meetup.com/Seattle-Kubernetes-Meetup/events/234710383/)
  • December 7, Seattle
  • Kubernetes Deployment Models (https://www.meetup.com/Bay-Area-Kubernetes-Meetup/events/235765474/)
  • December 8, Mountain View
  • Kubernetes Bangalore Meetup (https://www.meetup.com/kubernetes-openshift-India-Meetup/events/235727421/)
  • December 10, Bangalore
  • Apache Mesos & CNCF meetup Part 2 (https://www.meetup.com/Bangalore-Mesos-cncf-User-Group/events/235300516/)
  • December 10, Bangalore
  • Tectonic Summit (https://www.eventbrite.com/e/tectonic-summit-december-2016-new-york-city-tickets-27416398185)
  • December 12, NYC
  • Learn about Kubernetes 1.5 Highlights (https://www.meetup.com/Nashville-Kubernetes-Meetup/events/234976094/)
  • December 13, Nashville
  • Social with Go and Kubernetes Meetups at Torched Hop Brewing (https://www.meetup.com/Docker-Atlanta/events/235735916/)
  • December 13, Atlanta
  • Containing Chaos with Kubernetes (https://nomadphp.com/nomadphp-2017-01-us/)
  • January 19, Webinar
  • Container Camp AU (https://container.camp/au/2017/)
  • May 2017, Austrailia

Literature

  • Kubernetes: Up and Running: Dive into the Future of Infrastructure (http://www.savingexpert.info/2016/11/24/10-kubernetes-up-and-running-dive-into-the-future-of-infrastructure-6/)
  • By Kelsey Hightower (https://twitter.com/kelseyhightower) ; This practical book will prepare you to take advantage of everything the Kubernetes platform has to offer.
  • Kubernetes Microservices with Docker (https://www.amazon.com/Kubernetes-Microservices-Docker-Vohra-ebook/dp/B01FXJ9OB8%3FSubscriptionId%3DAKIAJ2HQNLFCLUOUMLHQ%26tag%3Dzippylab-20%26linkCode%3Dsp1%26camp%3D2025%26creative%3D165953%26creativeASIN%3DB01FXJ9OB8&zpy=1)
  • By Vohra (https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=dp_byline_sr_ebooks_1?ie=UTF8&text=Vohra&search-alias=digital-text&field-author=Vohra&sort=relevancerank) ; This book on Kubernetes, the container cluster manager, discusses all aspects of using Kubernetes in today’s complex big data and enterprise applications, including Docker containers.
  • Deploying Rails with Docker, Kubernetes and ECS (https://www.amazon.com/Deploying-Rails-Docker-Kubernetes-ECS/dp/1484224140%3FSubscriptionId%3DAKIAJ2HQNLFCLUOUMLHQ%26tag%3Dzippylab-20%26linkCode%3Dsp1%26camp%3D2025%26creative%3D165953%26creativeASIN%3D1484224140&zpy=1)
  • By Pablo Acuña (https://twitter.com/pabloacunar) ; shows you how to set up the project, push it to DockerHub, manage services and set up an efficient continuous integration environment.

Swag

  • KUBERNETES NO SHOW SOCK (https://store.cncf.io/collections/kubernetes/products/kubernestes-no-show-sock)
  • The most comfortable sock on earth! The K8 no show sock is the ultimate fashion accessory and the most comfortable one you will ever wear. One size fits most.