Technical

  • additional kubernetes controllers from fabric8 you can use with your microservice (https://blog.fabric8.io/additional-kubernetes-controllers-from-fabric8-you-can-use-with-your-microservice-3126a2c4c132#.n6oiwcw6q)
  • By James Strachan (https://twitter.com/jstrachan)
  • Strategies for Running Stateful Workloads in Kubernetes: Pet Sets (http://thenewstack.io/strategies-running-stateful-applications-kubernetes-pet-sets/)
  • By Janakiram MSV (https://twitter.com/janakiramm)
  • A Service Mesh for Kubernetes, Part IV: Continuous deployment via traffic shifting (https://blog.buoyant.io/2016/11/04/a-service-mesh-for-kubernetes-part-iv-continuous-deployment-via-traffic-shifting/)
  • By Sarah Brown (https://twitter.com/esbie)
  • Microservice Monitoring in Kubernetes with Netsil (https://blog.netsil.com/microservice-monitoring-in-kubernetes-with-netsil-84891563c0de#.cqa5bg706)
  • By Matt Baldwin (https://twitter.com/baldwinmathew)
  • How to configure The Kubernetes Blueprint to Scale out with vRA 7.1 (http://www.vmtocloud.com/how-to-configure-the-kubernetes-blueprint-to-scale-out-with-vra-7-1/)
  • By Ryan Kelly (https://twitter.com/vmtocloud)
  • New Helm chart: Minecraft dedicated server (http://gc-taylor.com/blog/2016/11/2/new-helm-chart-minecraft-dedicated-server)
  • By Greg Taylor (https://twitter.com/gctaylor/)
  • Introducing the etcd Operator: Simplify etcd cluster configuration and management (https://coreos.com/blog/introducing-the-etcd-operator.html)
  • By Hongchao Deng (https://twitter.com/hongchaod)
  • The Prometheus Operator: Managed Prometheus setups for Kubernetes (https://coreos.com/blog/the-prometheus-operator.html)
  • By Fabian Reinartz (https://twitter.com/fabxc)
  • GitLab, Consumer Driven Contracts, Helm and Kubernetes (https://medium.com/@enxebre/gitlab-consumer-driven-contracts-helm-and-kubernetes-b7235a60a1cb#.q3hulfipg)
  • By Alberto Garcia (https://www.linkedin.com/in/alberto-garc%C3%ADa-lamela-88597936)
  • Installing Kubernetes on CentOS Atomic Host with kubeadm (https://jebpages.com/2016/11/01/installing-kubernetes-on-centos-atomic-host-with-kubeadm/)
  • By Jason Brooks (https://twitter.com/jasonbrooks?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw)
  • Auto Scaling Kubernetes Clusters with KCluster.io (https://blog.kcluster.io/auto-scaling-kubernetes-clusters-with-kcluster-io-1b2da5514c5d#.nk4bsshgy)
  • By KCluster (https://twitter.com/kclusterio)

Blogs / Articles

  • Dev / Test / Ops – Gain More Horsepower By Sharing Kubernetes (http://www.storagereview.com/dev_test_ops_gain_more_horsepower_by_sharing_kubernetes)
  • By Fritz Ferstl (https://twitter.com/FritzFerstl)
  • New Open Source Software Trireme Tackles Container Security (http://packetpushers.net/new-open-source-software-trireme-tackles-container-security/)
  • By Drew Conry-Murray (https://twitter.com/DrewConryMurray)
  • Trireme: Open Source Application Segmentation For Kubernetes (https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/trireme-open-source-application-segmentation-amir-sharif)
  • By Amir Sharif (https://twitter.com/amir_sharif)
  • Aporeto Thinks Container Security Can Really Be This Simple (https://www.sdxcentral.com/articles/news/aporeto-thinks-container-security-simple/2016/11/)
  • By Craig Matsumoto (https://twitter.com/craigmatsumoto)
  • Looking at How to Look at Kubernetes (http://thenewstack.io/end-user-perspective-monitoring-kubernetes/)
  • By Lawrence Hecht (https://twitter.com/LawrenceHecht)
  • Automating Infrastructure Deployment for Kubernetes (https://www.linux.com/blog/automating-infrastructure-deployment-kubernetes)
  • By Alena Prokharchyk (https://twitter.com/Lemonjet)
  • CoreOS touts ‘Operators’ for simpler Kubernetes management (http://siliconangle.com/blog/2016/11/03/coreos-touts-operators-for-simpler-kubernetes-management/)
  • By Mike Wheatley (https://twitter.com/Mike_Wheatley)
  • CoreOS introduces Operators to streamline Kubernetes container management (https://techcrunch.com/2016/11/03/coreos-introduces-operators-to-streamline-kubernetes-container-management/)
  • By Ron Miller (https://twitter.com/ron_miller)
  • Hello Operator, automate my Kubernetes (http://www.theregister.co.uk/2016/11/03/hello_operator_automate_my_kubernetes/)
  • By Thomas Claburn (https://twitter.com/ThomasClaburn)
  • CoreOS Releases ‘Operators,’ Containers to Configure Kubernetes for Specific Apps (http://thenewstack.io/coreos-contributes-operators-containers-configure-kubernetes/)
  • By Scott M Fulton III (https://twitter.com/SMFulton3)
  • CoreOS Operators let you run apps at scale with Kubernetes (http://www.infoworld.com/article/3137952/data-center/coreos-operators-let-you-run-apps-at-scale-with-kubernetes.html?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter#tk.rss_all)
  • By Serdar Yegulalp (https://twitter.com/syegulalp)
  • Containers: why VMware adopts Kubernetes (http://www.silicon.fr/conteneurs-vmware-adopte-kubernetes-161647.html)
  • By José Diz (http://www.silicon.fr/author/jdiz)
  • Running Stateful Applications in Kubernetes: Storage Provisioning and Allocation (http://thenewstack.io/strategies-running-stateful-applications-kubernetes-persistent-volumes-claims/)
  • By Janakiram MSV (https://twitter.com/janakiramm)

Presentations

  • Writing a Kubernetes Autoscaler with Groovy and Spring Boot (http://www.slideshare.net/SpringCentral/writing-a-kubernetes-autoscaler-with-groovy-and-spring-boot)
  • By Ray Tsang (https://twitter.com/saturnism) ; Recorded at SpringOne2GX
  • Monitoring microservices: Docker, Mesos and Kubernetes visibility at scale (http://www.slideshare.net/AlessandroGallotta/monitoring-microservices-docker-mesos-and-kubernetes-visibility-at-scale)
  • By Alessandro Gallotta (https://www.linkedin.com/in/alexgallotta) ; microservices and containers are revolutionizing the way we deploy
  • Kubernetes in 20 minutes – HDE Monthly Technical Session 24 (http://www.slideshare.net/lestrrat/kubernetes-in-20-minutes-hde-monthly-technical-session-24)
  • By Daisuke Maki (https://twitter.com/lestrrat) ; Kubernetes Concepts and Terms explained at a very high level
  • Kubernetes @ GoDaddy (https://speakerdeck.com/sushant/kubernetes-at-godaddy)
  • By Sushant Bhadkamkar (https://twitter.com/tnahsus) ; Presented at the Bay Area Kubernetes Meetup
  • AWS and GKE Migration and Multicloud (http://www.slideshare.net/chrisaarongaun5/aws-and-gke-migration-and-multicloud-67021387)
  • By Chris Gaun (https://twitter.com/Chris_Gaun) ; Covers Kubernetes multicloud case studies with both AWS and Google Container Engine (GKE). Delves into challenges of implementing Kubernetes yourself in AWS when there is no dedicated ops team (devs only).
  • Building a Kubernetes Cluster with Ansible (http://res.cdn.sys-con.com/session/3181/Patrick_Galbraith.pdf)
  • By Patrick Galbraith (https://www.linkedin.com/in/galbraithpatrick) ; discussed how to build a fully functional Kubernetes cluster on a number of virtual machines or bare-metal hosts

Slideshare

  • Monitoring kubernetes across data center and cloud (http://www.slideshare.net/DatadogSlides/monitoring-kubernetes-across-data-center-and-cloud?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter)
  • By Ilan Rabinovitch (https://twitter.com/irabinovitch) ; Aleks Saul (https://twitter.com/alekssaul) ; Aparna Sinha (https://twitter.com/apbhatnagar) : Specifically Monitoring Tectonic and Google Container Engine using Datadog.

Upcoming Events

  • KubeCon (http://events.linuxfoundation.org/events/kubecon)
  • November 8-9, Seattle
  • co-located with CloudNativeCon
  • 2-Day-Workshop: From Zero to Hero with Microservices (https://www.eventbrite.com/e/2-day-workshop-from-zero-to-hero-with-microservices-tickets-27926411649)
  • November 8-9, Webinar
  • Managing Applications with Kubernetes (http://conferences.oreilly.com/velocity/devops-web-performance-eu/public/schedule/detail/53713?cmp=tw-webops-confreg-info-vleu16_vleu_session)
  • November 9-10, Online
  • GDG Cloud: Introducing Kubernetes 1.4 with Ray Tsang and Wercker (https://www.gdgnetherlands.org/events-gdgcloudlookingintokubernetes.html)
  • November 14, Amsterdam
  • Meetup #1 – Intro to K8s and Operationalization (https://www.meetup.com/Kubernetes-Toronto/events/234838372/?utm_content=41997319&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter)
  • November 14, Toronto
  • Launching Hy.pe on K8S + VM Security & Container Workflows (http://www.meetup.com/New-York-Kubernetes-Meetup/events/235326296/)
  • November 16, NYC
  • Kubernetes 101 (http://www.meetup.com/techlifecolumbus/events/235134638/) Workshop
  • November 17, Columbus
  • Monitoring Microservices & Kubernetes for Developerment (http://www.meetup.com/Berlin-Kubernetes-Meetup/events/234622438/?a=socialmedia)
  • November 17, Berlin
  • Kubernetes Training, Cisco Systems (https://www.eventbrite.com/e/kubernetes-training-portland-or-tickets-28530536603)
  • December 1, Portland
  • Kubernetes for Developers and DevOps Professionals (http://www.meetup.com/Kubernetes-Philly/events/234829676/)
  • December 5, Philadelphia
  • Kubernetes for Java developers (https://www.meetup.com/virtualJUG/events/235298496/)
  • December 6, UK
  • Nordstrom’s User Story & Advanced Scheduling in Kubernetes (http://www.meetup.com/Seattle-Kubernetes-Meetup/events/234710383/)
  • December 7, Seattle
  • Tectonic Summit (https://www.eventbrite.com/e/tectonic-summit-december-2016-new-york-city-tickets-27416398185)
  • December 12, NYC
  • Containing Chaos with Kubernetes (https://nomadphp.com/nomadphp-2017-01-us/)
  • January 19, Webinar

Literature

  • The Art of Capacity Planning: Scaling Web Resources in the Cloud (https://www.amazon.com/Art-Capacity-Planning-Scaling-Resources/dp/1491939206%3FSubscriptionId%3DAKIAJ2HQNLFCLUOUMLHQ%26tag%3Dzippylab-20%26linkCode%3Dsp1%26camp%3D2025%26creative%3D165953%26creativeASIN%3D1491939206&zpy=1)
  • By Arun Kerjariwal (https://twitter.com/arun_kejariwal) & John Allspaw (https://twitter.com/allspaw) ; This thoroughly revised second edition not only updates and refines methods for an industry that’s since evolved by leaps and bounds, but also provides up-to-date content on the latest technological developments, including topics characteristic of current cloud systems
  • Kubernetes Microservices with Docker (https://www.amazon.com/Kubernetes-Microservices-Docker-Deepak-Vohra-ebook/dp/B01IJVZ6X2%3FSubscriptionId%3DAKIAJ2HQNLFCLUOUMLHQ%26tag%3Dzippylab-20%26linkCode%3Dsp1%26camp%3D2025%26creative%3D165953%26creativeASIN%3DB01IJVZ6X2&zpy=1)
  • By Deepak Vohra; introduces Kubernetes with a simple Hello example and discusses using environment variables in Kubernetes

Swag

  • KUBERNETES NO SHOW SOCK (https://store.cncf.io/collections/kubernetes/products/kubernestes-no-show-sock)
  • The most comfortable sock on earth! The K8 no show sock is the ultimate fashion accessory and the most comfortable one you will ever wear. One size fits most.