Technical

  • Building Globally Distributed Services using Kubernetes Cluster Federation (http://blog.kubernetes.io/2016/10/globally-distributed-services-kubernetes-cluster-federation.html)
  • By Allan Naim (https://twitter.com/allannaim) & Quinton Hoole (https://twitter.com/quintonhoole)
  • Reserving a Kubernetes node for specific pods (https://medium.com/@alejandro.ramirez.ch/reserving-a-kubernetes-node-for-specific-nodes-e75dc8297076#.uvgwpfren)
  • By Alejandro J. Ramírez (https://twitter.com/j4n0)
  • Managing containerized ASP.NET Core apps with Kubernetes (https://cloudplatform.googleblog.com/2016/10/managing-containerized-ASP.NET-Core-apps-with-Kubernetes.html)
  • By Mete Atamel (https://twitter.com/meteatamel)
  • Cluster RBAC Policies (https://github.com/uruddarraju/kubernetes-rbac-policies)
  • By Uday Ruddarraju (https://github.com/uruddarraju)
  • Manage Lets Encrypt certificates for a Kubernetes cluster. (https://github.com/PalmStoneGames/kube-cert-manager)
  • By Luna Duclos (https://github.com/PSG-Luna)
  • Using Camel-cassandraql on a Kubernetes Cassandra cluster with Fabric8 (http://oscerd.github.io/2016/10/14/camel-cassandraql-on-kubernetes-cassandra-cluster/)
  • By Andrea Cosentino (https://twitter.com/oscerd2)
  • Run Kubernetes on a Mac with Kube Solo (https://deis.com/blog/2016/run-kubernetes-on-a-mac-with-kube-solo/)
  • By Nitish Tiwari (https://twitter.com/@tiwari_nitish)
  • Some ressources to easily bring a Kubernetes cluster. (https://github.com/valentin2105/Kubernetes_Deployment)
  • By Valentin Ouvrard (https://twitter.com/Valentin_NC)
  • How kubeadm Initializes Your Kubernetes Master (https://www.ianlewis.org/en/how-kubeadm-initializes-your-kubernetes-master)
  • By Ian Lewis (https://twitter.com/IanMLewis)
  • Four creative ways to create an OpenShift/Kubernetes dev environment (http://developers.redhat.com/blog/2016/10/11/four-creative-ways-to-create-an-openshiftkubernetes-dev-environment/)
  • By Rafael Benevides (https://twitter.com/rafabene)

Blogs / Articles

  • What to Know About Kubernetes 1.4 (https://codefresh.io/blog/know-kubernetes-1-4/)
  • By Oleg Verhovsky (https://www.linkedin.com/in/olegverhovsky)
  • CoreOS acquires tiny startup Redspread, will add technology to Kubernetes and Tectonic (http://venturebeat.com/2016/10/17/coreos-acquires-tiny-startup-redspread-will-add-technology-to-kubernetes-and-tectonic/)
  • By Jordan Novet (https://twitter.com/jordannovet)
  • Deploying & Scaling Kubernetes (https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/deploying-scaling-kubernetes-vishal-biyani?utm_content=buffer28361&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer)
  • By Vishal Biyani (https://twitter.com/vishal_biyani)
  • Ubuntu 16.10 ups cloud ante with Kubernetes, OpenStack (http://www.infoworld.com/article/3130822/linux/ubuntu-1610-ups-cloud-ante-with-kubernetes-openstack.html?utm_content=buffer598e1&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer)
  • By Serdar Yegulalp (https://twitter.com/syegulalp)
  • WTF is a container? (https://techcrunch.com/2016/10/16/wtf-is-a-container/)
  • By Frederic Lardinois (https://twitter.com/fredericl)
  • Prometheus Gets its Own Day at KubeCon, a Testament to its Rise in the Ecosystem (http://thenewstack.io/history-prometheus-julius-volz/)
  • By Kiran Oliver (https://twitter.com/koliver_writes)
  • Notes on My First Month at Apprenda (https://apprenda.com/blog/notes-first-month-apprenda/)
  • By Steven Wade (https://twitter.com/swade1987)
  • Exploring Kubernetes as a Mesos Framework: Does it Make Sense? (https://dzone.com/articles/exploring-kubernetes-as-a-mesos-framework-does-it)
  • By Klaus Ma (https://twitter.com/k82cn)
  • Multi master Kubernetes (https://www.exoscale.ch/syslog/2016/10/12/multi-master-kubernetes/)
  • By Philipp Strube (https://twitter.com/pst418)
  • Using Kubernetes to reinvent the world’s largest educational company: Pearson Case Study (http://kubernetes.io/case-studies/pearson/)

Presentations

  • Local Java development with Kubernetes and fabric8.io (https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=youtu.be&v=CYrCW1SjpOI)
  • By James Strachan (https://twitter.com/jstrachan) ; In this screen cast we’ll take a look at building a Spring Boot app/microservice, starting a Kubernetes cluster, and build/deploy/test/debug all from a Java developers point of view
  • Kubernetes Community Meeting 20161013 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jJJcDzS9vzU)
  • Demo on incubator project node-feature-discovery; SIG Cluster Lifecycle; Release 1.4.2 update; Release 1.5 alpha today and some new processes; 1.5 features scrub; Kubecon update
  • Minikube (https://asciinema.org/a/89123)
  • By Sebastien Goasguen (https://twitter.com/sebgoa) ; No sound
  • Scaling Jenkins with Docker: Swarm, Kubernetes or Mesos? (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=24X18e4GVbk)
  • By Carlos Sanchez (https://twitter.com/csanchez) ; This talk covers these main container clusters, outlining the pros and cons of each, the current state of the art of the technologies and Jenkins support
  • Kubernetes: enable developers of distributed systems to achieve both reliability and agility at scale (https://connectikpeople.blogspot.com/2015/11/kubernetes-enable-developers-of.html)
  • By TAATJENE Thomas (https://plus.google.com/+TAATJENEThomas) ; The dynamic behind Kubernetes is exciting along an awesome community and powerful features that evolve at the holistic pace.

Slideshare

  • Scale out, with Kubernetes (k8s) (http://www.slideshare.net/ArkadiuszBorek/scale-out-with-kubernetes-k8s)
  • By Arkadiusz Borek (https://twitter.com/arekborek) ; represented basics concepts from docker and kubernetes, each part ends with short example.
  • 9 ways to consume kubernetes on open stack in 15 mins (k8s meetup) (http://www.slideshare.net/StacyVronneau/9-ways-to-consume-kubernetes-on-open-stack-in-15-mins-k8s-meetup)
  • By Stacy Véronneau (https://twitter.com/sveronneau_tj4h) ; a quick slide deck to help people consume OpenStack resources from Kubernetes. It covers elements running on a laptop to consuming a full production cloud.
  • Kubernetes in Production (https://manojlds.github.io/kubernetes-production/#1)
  • By Manoj Mahalingam (https://twitter.com/manojlds) ; Slides from his “Kubernetes in Production” Indix talk at DevDay

Upcoming Events

  • Kubernetes & Open Source Containers: A New Era for DevOps (https://www.brighttalk.com/webcast/14745/226293)
  • October 18, Webinar
  • Tobias Schwab @ eSailors – Continuous Delivery with k8s (http://www.meetup.com/Hamburg-Kubernetes-Meetup/events/234712906/?fromEmail=234712906&rv=ea1)
  • October 18, Hamburg
  • Kubernetes Sevilla 2016; ETS de Ingeniería Informática (https://www.meetup.com/Kubernetes-Sevilla/events/234750939/)
  • October 18, Sevilla
  • Autumn Kubernetes gathering (https://www.meetup.com/Kubernetes-London/events/234743497/)
  • October 19, London
  • October Kubernetes Meetup with Buffer and Deis (https://www.meetup.com/Kubernetes-Cloud-Native-New-York/events/234646022/)
  • October 19, NYC
  • Micro-datacenter with Raspberry Pi and Kubernetes (https://www.meetup.com/gdg-dc/events/234811961/)
  • October 20, Reston
  • Roadshow Container Seminar (http://seminar.containerdays.de/)
  • October 21-22, Hamburg
  • Kubernetes Training Day – Learn from the Experts (https://www.eventbrite.com/e/kubernetes-training-day-learn-from-the-experts-tickets-28199455330?utm_content=bufferc8f3c&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer)
  • October 26, Köln
  • NYJavaSIG Cloud Workgroup – Hands-on with Kubernetes Upgrade Event (https://freeeventfinder.com/nyjavasig-cloud-workgroup-hands-on-with-kubernetes-google-new-york-ny-1)
  • October 26, NYC
  • Kubernetes on Windows and More with Google, Apprenda, and Ticketmaster (http://www.meetup.com/Kubernetes-Southern-California/events/234782941/)
  • November 1, Hollywood
  • The DynamicInfraDays container and dynamic infrastructure community (https://www.eventbrite.com/e/containerdays-nyc-2016-tickets-26650870471?utm_content=buffera1a74&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer)
  • November 3-4, NYC
  • OpenShift Commons Gathering (https://meeting-reg.com/redhat/2016/public/openshiftgathering?aff=Twitter&utm_content=buffer26247&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer)
  • November 7, Seattle
  • KubeCon (http://events.linuxfoundation.org/events/kubecon)
  • November 8-9, Seattle
  • co-located with CloudNativeCon
  • 2-Day-Workshop: From Zero to Hero with Microservices (https://www.eventbrite.com/e/2-day-workshop-from-zero-to-hero-with-microservices-tickets-27926411649)
  • November 8-9, Webinar
  • Managing Applications with Kubernetes (http://conferences.oreilly.com/velocity/devops-web-performance-eu/public/schedule/detail/53713?cmp=tw-webops-confreg-info-vleu16_vleu_session)
  • November 9-10, Online
  • Kubernetes Training, Cisco Systems (https://www.eventbrite.com/e/kubernetes-training-portland-or-tickets-28530536603)
  • December 1, Portland
  • Kubernetes for Developers and DevOps Professionals (http://www.meetup.com/Kubernetes-Philly/events/234829676/)
  • December 5, Philadelphia

Literature

  • The Go Programming Language (Addison-Wesley Professional Computing Series) (https://www.amazon.com/Programming-Language-Addison-Wesley-Professional-Computing/dp/0134190440?SubscriptionId=AKIAJ2HQNLFCLUOUMLHQ&tag=zippylab-20&linkCode=sp1&camp=2025&creative=165953&creativeASIN=0134190440&zpy=1)
  • by Alan A. A. Donovan (https://twitter.com/golangalan) , Brian W. Kernighan; the authoritative resource for any programmer who wants to learn Go. It shows how to write clear and idiomatic Go to solve real-world problems.
  • Kubernetes Microservices with Docker (https://www.amazon.com/Kubernetes-Microservices-Docker-Vohra-ebook/dp/B01FXJ9OB8%3FSubscriptionId%3DAKIAJ2HQNLFCLUOUMLHQ%26tag%3Dzippylab-20%26linkCode%3Dsp1%26camp%3D2025%26creative%3D165953%26creativeASIN%3DB01FXJ9OB8&zpy=1)
  • This book on Kubernetes, the container cluster manager, discusses all aspects of using Kubernetes in today’s complex big data and enterprise applications, including Docker containers.