Technical

  • Minikube – Rapid Dev & Testing for Kubernetes (https://www.voxxed.com/blog/2016/10/minikube-rapid-dev-testing-for-kubernetes/)
  • By Arun Gupta (https://twitter.com/arungupta)
  • Running CockroachDB on Kubernetes (https://www.cockroachlabs.com/blog/running-cockroachdb-on-kubernetes/)
  • By Alex Robinson (https://github.com/a-robinson)
  • Helm Charts: making it simple to package and deploy common applications on Kubernetes (http://blog.kubernetes.io/2016/10/helm-charts-making-it-simple-to-package-and-deploy-apps-on-kubernetes.html)
  • By Vic Iglesias (https://twitter.com/vicnastea)
  • Kubernetes PS1 (https://gist.github.com/micahhausler/0d8646da95ad0a258fb8a6521fc35224)
  • By Micah Hausler (https://twitter.com/micahhausler)
  • Simple demo using minikube to deploy Prometheus and Grafana (https://github.com/bakins/minikube-prometheus-demo)
  • By Brian Akins (https://twitter.com/bakins)
  • Moving MicroBadger to Kubernetes (https://medium.com/microscaling-systems/moving-microbadger-to-kubernetes-4555bf17512c#.nmmjx0o6z)
  • By Ross Fairbanks (https://twitter.com/rossf7)
  • Kubernetes Java Samples (https://github.com/arun-gupta/kubernetes-java-sample/blob/master/workshop.adoc)
  • By Arun Gupta (https://twitter.com/arungupta)
  • Hands on orchestration: Docker 1.12 Swarm vs Kubernetes (https://torusware.com/blog/2016/09/hands-on-orchestration-docker-1-12-swarm-vs-kubernetes/)
  • By Roi Costas (https://www.linkedin.com/in/roicostasfiel/en)
  • Getting Started on Azure (https://github.com/kubernetes/kubernetes-anywhere/blob/master/phase1/azure/README.md)
  • By Cole Mickens (https://twitter.com/colemickens)
  • Minikube v0.11.0 (https://github.com/kubernetes/minikube/releases/tag/v0.11.0)
  • A Service Mesh for Kubernetes, Part I: Top-Line Service Metrics (https://blog.buoyant.io/2016/10/04/a-service-mesh-for-kubernetes-part-i-top-line-service-metrics/)
  • By Alex Leong (https://twitter.com/adlleong)
  • Kubernetes – From Container to Cluster (https://github.com/kubernetes/minikube/releases/tag/v0.11.0)
  • Monitoring Your Kubernetes Infrastructure with Prometheus (https://www.weave.works/monitoring-kubernetes-infrastructure/)
  • By Jonathan Lange (https://github.com/jml)
  • Scripts to set (or tear down) the stage for a Kubernetes demo at the DevOps Camp Compact 2016 Nuremberg (https://github.com/egoexpress/kubernetes-devopscamp)
  • By Björn Stierand (https://twitter.com/egoexpress)
  • elasticsearch-cloud-kubernetes (https://github.com/fabric8io/elasticsearch-cloud-kubernetes)
  • By FuseSource CI (https://github.com/fusesource-ci)
  • Using Vault as a Certificate Authority for Kubernetes (https://www.digitalocean.com/company/blog/vault-and-kubernetes/)
  • By Tommy Murphy (https://twitter.com/tam7t)

Blogs / Articles

  • Containerisation: What are the Benefits of Kubernetes? (http://www.serverspace.co.uk/blog/how-have-kubernetes-become-the-containerisation-company-to-beat)
  • By Clive Larkin (https://www.linkedin.com/in/clivelarkin)
  • XebiaLabs Releases Plugins for Kubernetes, Docker Compose, Docker and Ansible (http://devopsdigest.com/xebialabs-releases-plugins-for-kubernetes-docker-compose-docker-and-ansible?utm_campaign=sniply&utm_medium=sniply&utm_source=sniply)
  • By DevOps Digest (https://twitter.com/DevOpsDigest11)
  • Installing Kubernetes from Copenhagen Airport in one command (while having a drink) (https://blog.fabric8.io/installing-kubernetes-from-copenhagen-airport-in-one-command-while-having-a-drink-5ff42d12e692#.g0rt07wez)
  • By Claus Ibsen (https://twitter.com/davsclaus)
  • TNS Research: How Much Did it Cost to Build the Kubernetes Ecosystem? (http://thenewstack.io/tns-research-k8s-ecosystem-cost/?utm_content=bufferfc002&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer)
  • By Lawrence Hecht (https://twitter.com/LawrenceHecht)
  • Deploying MongoDB on Kubernetes 1.4 using Helm charts (http://billcloud.me/deploying-mongodb-on-kubernetes-1.4-using-helm-charts/)
  • By Bill Ward (https://twitter.com/billcloud_me)
  • Making the Case for Containers (http://www.nextplatform.com/2016/10/04/making-case-containers/)
  • By Lars Herrmann (https://twitter.com/lars_herrmann)
  • OpenStack Newton Seeks Scale, Easier Deployment (http://www.enterprisetech.com/2016/10/10/openstack-newton-seeks-scale-easier-deployment/)
  • By George Leopold (https://twitter.com/gleopold1)
  • How CRI-O Would Put Kubernetes at the Center of the Container Ecosystem (http://thenewstack.io/cri-o-make-kubernetes-center-container-ecosystem/?utm_content=bufferd16d3&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer)
  • By Scott M Fulton III (https://twitter.com/SMFulton3)
  • A Survival Guide for Containerizing your Infrastructure — Part 1: Why switch? (https://medium.com/google-cloud/a-survival-guide-for-containerizing-your-infrastructure-part-1-why-switch-8e8dee9fc66#.t3spilqrk)
  • By Austin Cooley (https://twitter.com/adcooley)
  • Kubernetes on Canonical Ubuntu, enterprise container portfolio expands (http://www.computerweekly.com/blog/Open-Source-Insider/Kubernetes-on-Canonical-Ubuntu-enterprise-container-portfolio-expands)
  • By Adrian Bridgwater (https://twitter.com/ABridgwater)
  • Announcing Faster Container Builds Powered by Kubernetes (https://blog.quay.io/faster-container-builds/)
  • By Joseph Schorr (https://twitter.com/JoeSchorr)
  • Prometheus and Kubernetes: Deploying (https://www.weave.works/prometheus-kubernetes-deploying/?platform=hootsuite)
  • By Tom Wilkie (https://twitter.com/tom_wilkie)

Presentations

  • Custom Admission Control in Kubernetes by Peter Miron of Apcera (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=83WTUVmZ5HU)
  • By Pete Miron (https://twitter.com/petemiron) ; presentation at the New York Kubernetes Meetup ‘s September event, demonstrates creating a custom Admission Control in Kubernetes — Restricting which pods can access which secrets
  • SIG-Windows presents Windows Server Containers with Kubernetes, running on Microsoft Azure (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1TYtnClktr0&feature=youtu.be)
  • By Michael Michael (https://twitter.com/michmike77) ; the Kubernetes SIG-Windows team, led byApprenda (https://twitter.com/Apprenda) , has enhanced Kubernetes to support Windows Server Containers (and Windows Server 2016 as the operating system of choice for the windows-based kubelet)
  • Kubernetes SIG Service Catalog 20161003 Kubernetes (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kfar5Uw7CRg)
  • SIG Service Catalog is presented with two demos of two different prototypes for integrating Kubernetes with the Cloud Foundry Service Broker API and ecosystem.
  • Descomplicando o KUBERNETES – parte1 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1ENtPSKjD2I&feature=youtu.be&a)
  • Seja bem-vindo ao Canal LinuxTips e hoje vamos falar sobre o sensacional KUBERNETES
  • Kubernetes and Spinnaker (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0bPZpBZVpcw&feature=youtu.be&a)
  • By Isaac Mosquera (https://twitter.com/imosquera)
  • How CoreOS is Building Confidence with Kubernetes in Production (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y72BPwXR32o&feature=youtu.be&a)
  • By The New Stack (https://twitter.com/thenewstack) ; explore how CoreOS is improving the power of etcd within Kubernetes, how monitoring solutions such as the Prometheus impact Kubernetes, and what today’s developers can expect moving forward when operating etcd in production
  • Scalable Microservices with Kubernetes (https://www.udacity.com/course/scalable-microservices-with-kubernetes–ud615)
  • Free course; designed to teach you about managing application containers, using Kubernetes. Feat Kelsey Hightower (https://twitter.com/kelseyhightower) , Carter Morgan (https://twitter.com/_askcarter) ,Adrian Cockroft (https://twitter.com/adrianco)
  • CoreOS’ CTO on Kubernetes, Etcd, Prometheus, and Tectonic (http://thenewstack.io/coreos-building-confidence-kubernetes-production/) (podcast)
  • By Kiran Oliver (https://twitter.com/koliver_writes) ; explore how CoreOS is improving the Kubernetes container orchestration tool, through the power of etcd, and the Prometheus monitoring tool.
  • A Security State of Mind: Continuous Security for Containers & DevOps (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VOLf6zvJLu8)
  • By Chris Van Tuin (https://twitter.com/chrisvantuin) ; explore how CoreOS is improving the Kubernetes container orchestration tool, through the power of etcd, and the Prometheus monitoring tool with Brandon Philips (https://twitter.com/BrandonPhilips)

Slideshare

  • Writing a Kubernetes Autoscaler with Groovy and Spring Boot (http://www.slideshare.net/SpringCentral/writing-a-kubernetes-autoscaler-with-groovy-and-spring-boot)
  • By Ray Tsang (https://twitter.com/saturnism) ; Recorded at SpringOne2GX
  • Monitoring microservices: Docker, Mesos and Kubernetes visibility at scale (http://www.slideshare.net/AlessandroGallotta/monitoring-microservices-docker-mesos-and-kubernetes-visibility-at-scale)
  • By Alessandro Gallotta (https://www.linkedin.com/in/alexgallotta) ; microservices and containers are revolutionizing the way we deploy
  • Kubernetes in 20 minutes – HDE Monthly Technical Session 24 (http://www.slideshare.net/lestrrat/kubernetes-in-20-minutes-hde-monthly-technical-session-24)
  • By Daisuke Maki (https://twitter.com/lestrrat) ; Kubernetes Concepts and Terms explained at a very high level
  • Kubernetes @ GoDaddy (https://speakerdeck.com/sushant/kubernetes-at-godaddy)
  • By Sushant Bhadkamkar (https://twitter.com/tnahsus) ; Presented at the Bay Area Kubernetes Meetup
  • AWS and GKE Migration and Multicloud (http://www.slideshare.net/chrisaarongaun5/aws-and-gke-migration-and-multicloud-67021387)
  • By Chris Gaun (https://twitter.com/Chris_Gaun) ; Covers Kubernetes multicloud case studies with both AWS and Google Container Engine (GKE). Delves into challenges of implementing Kubernetes yourself in AWS when there is no dedicated ops team (devs only).
  • Building a Kubernetes Cluster with Ansible (http://res.cdn.sys-con.com/session/3181/Patrick_Galbraith.pdf)
  • By Patrick Galbraith (https://www.linkedin.com/in/galbraithpatrick) ; discussed how to build a fully functional Kubernetes cluster on a number of virtual machines or bare-metal hosts

Upcoming Events

  • Advanced Scheduling Superpowers (http://www.meetup.com/New-York-Kubernetes-Meetup/events/233743118/?a=socialmedia)
  • October 12, NYC
  • GDG DevFest (https://hamburg.devfest.de/)
  • October 14-15, Hamburg
  • Kubernetes & Open Source Containers: A New Era for DevOps (https://www.brighttalk.com/webcast/14745/226293)
  • October 18, Webinar
  • Tobias Schwab @ eSailors – Continuous Delivery with k8s (http://www.meetup.com/Hamburg-Kubernetes-Meetup/events/234712906/?fromEmail=234712906&rv=ea1)
  • October 18, Hamburg
  • Roadshow Container Seminar (http://seminar.containerdays.de/)
  • October 21-22, Hamburg
  • Kubernetes Training Day – Learn from the Experts (https://www.eventbrite.com/e/kubernetes-training-day-learn-from-the-experts-tickets-28199455330?utm_content=bufferc8f3c&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer)
  • October 25, Köln
  • KubeCon (http://events.linuxfoundation.org/events/kubecon)
  • November 8-9, Seattle
  • co-located with CloudNativeCon
  • 2-Day-Workshop: From Zero to Hero with Microservices (https://www.eventbrite.com/e/2-day-workshop-from-zero-to-hero-with-microservices-tickets-27926411649)
  • November 8-9, Webinar
  • Managing Applications with Kubernetes (http://conferences.oreilly.com/velocity/devops-web-performance-eu/public/schedule/detail/53713?cmp=tw-webops-confreg-info-vleu16_vleu_session)
  • Nov 9-10, Online

Literature

  • Kubernetes Microservices with Docker (https://www.amazon.com/Kubernetes-Microservices-Docker-Vohra-ebook/dp/B01FXJ9OB8?SubscriptionId=AKIAJ2HQNLFCLUOUMLHQ&tag=zippylab-20&linkCode=sp1&camp=2025&creative=165953&creativeASIN=B01FXJ9OB8&zpy=1)
  • By Vohra; discusses all aspects of using Kubernetes in today’s complex big data and enterprise applications, including Docker containers
  • Kubernetes: Up and Running: Dive into the Future of Infrastructure (https://www.amazon.com/Kubernetes-Running-Dive-Future-Infrastructure/dp/1491935677?SubscriptionId=AKIAJ2HQNLFCLUOUMLHQ&tag=zippylab-20&linkCode=sp1&camp=2025&creative=165953&creativeASIN=1491935677&zpy=1)
  • By Kelsey Hightower (https://twitter.com/kelseyhightower) ; practical book will prepare you to take advantage of everything the Kubernetes platform has to offer.