Technical

  • Node Feature Discovery or: How I Stopped Worrying About Heterogeneity and Love Kubernetes (https://medium.com/intel-sdi/node-feature-discovery-or-how-i-stopped-worrying-about-heterogeneity-and-love-kubernetes-726cc428fe7b#.2xdf0b4fb)
  • By Balaji Subramaniam (https://www.linkedin.com/in/balaji-subramaniam-72913719)
  • A Makefile/Dockerfile example for Go projects. (https://github.com/thockin/go-build-template)
  • By Tim Hockin (https://twitter.com/thockin)
  • Configure Kubernetes on CoreOS | Part 2 (http://billcloud.me/post/configure-kubernetes-on-coreos-part2/)
  • By Bill Ward (https://twitter.com/billcloud_me)
  • Kubernetes-Dashboard Auto Refresh Script (https://gist.github.com/colemickens/cc1b650891f9a2d3a52540172b3b6159)
  • By Cole Mickens (https://twitter.com/colemickens)
  • MacOS Sierra Support: Build gcloud component and kubectl distribution with Go 1.7.x (https://github.com/kubernetes/kubernetes/issues/32999)
  • By Gerred Dillon (https://twitter.com/justicefries)
  • Creating Microservices Deployments on Kubernetes with Rancher – Part 2 (http://rancher.com/creating-microservices-deployments-on-kubernetes-with-rancher-part-2/)
  • By Usman Ismail (https://twitter.com/usman_ismail)
  • Kubernetes Watch API for node (https://github.com/subk/kube-watch)
  • By Max (https://github.com/subk)
  • Dask Cluster Deployments (http://matthewrocklin.com/blog/work/2016/09/22/cluster-deployments)
  • By Matthew Rocklin (https://twitter.com/mrocklin)
  • High performance network policies in Kubernetes clusters (http://blog.kubernetes.io/2016/09/high-performance-network-policies-kubernetes.html)
  • By Juergen Brendel (https://twitter.com/BrendelConsult) , Pritesh Kothari & Chris Marino (https://twitter.com/chris_marino)
  • Prometheus and Kubernetes: Monitoring Your Applications (https://www.weave.works/prometheus-and-kubernetes-monitoring-your-applications/)
  • By Tom Wilkie (https://twitter.com/tom_wilkie)
  • Fixed vulnerabilities in Docker image (https://github.com/kubernetes-incubator/node-feature-discovery/pull/13)
  • By Connor Doyle (https://twitter.com/nor0101?lang=en)
  • Containing container chaos with Kubernetes (https://opensource.com/life/16/9/containing-container-chaos-kubernetes?utm_campaign=twitter&utm_medium=twitter&utm_source=twitter)
  • By Terry Ryan (https://twitter.com/tpryan)
  • Monitoring Kubernetes with Datadog (https://www.datadoghq.com/jp/2016/09/monitoring-kubernetes-datadog/)
  • By Seigo Uchida (https://twitter.com/spesnova)
  • Kubernetes Letsencrypt Controller (https://github.com/tazjin/kubernetes-letsencrypt/blob/master/README.md)
  • By Vincent Ambo (https://twitter.com/tazjin)
  • Java client for Kubernetes & OpenShift 3 (https://github.com/fabric8io/kubernetes-client)
  • By FuseSource CI (https://github.com/fusesource-ci)
  • Auto-Scaling Kubernetes Cluster on AWS EC2 with Supergiant (https://supergiant.io/blog/auto-scaling-kubernetes-cluster-on-aws-ec2-with-supergiant)
  • By Brian Sage (https://twitter.com/briansage)
  • Clustering Elixir nodes on Kubernetes (https://substance.brpx.com/clustering-elixir-nodes-on-kubernetes-e85d0c26b0cf#.q08lisod4)
  • By Andre Cruz (https://twitter.com/satazor)

Blogs / Articles

  • Machine learning: Why Evernote has moved to Google’s cloud (http://www.techradar.com/news/internet/cloud-services/machine-learning-why-evernote-has-moved-to-google-s-cloud-1328817)
  • By Jamie Carter (https://twitter.com/jamieacarter)
  • Bossie Awards 2016: The best open source datacenter and cloud software (http://www.infoworld.com/article/3121249/open-source-tools/bossie-awards-2016-the-best-open-source-datacenter-and-cloud-software.html#slide3)
  • By Simon Bisson (https://twitter.com/sbisson) & Jonathan Freeman (https://twitter.com/@freethejazz)
  • Building a Modern Bank Backend (https://monzo.com/blog/2016/09/19/building-a-modern-bank-backend/)
  • By Oliver Beattie (https://twitter.com/obeattie)
  • No SDN Kubernetes (https://medium.com/@rothgar/no-sdn-kubernetes-5a0cb32070dd#.5du5lk8yt)
  • By Justin Garrison (https://twitter.com/rothgar)
  • The Importance of Monitoring Containers Infographic
  • By Kevin Goldberg (https://twitter.com/kevin_goldberg)
  • Why Kubernetes (k8s) on Google CONTAINER ENGINE (GKE)? (https://medium.com/@snaveen/why-k8s-on-gke-a644d2d611c1#.1u56id6tj)
  • By Naveen (https://twitter.com/snaveen)
  • Red Hat Updates Enterprise Container Platform (http://www.eweek.com/cloud/red-hat-updates-enterprise-container-platform.html)
  • By Sean Kerner (https://twitter.com/TechJournalist)
  • Red Hat relabels OpenShift Enterprise to Container Platform (http://www.theregister.co.uk/2016/09/23/red_hat_pushes_devops_and_scalability_with_openshift_container_platform_33/)
  • By Dan Robinson (https://twitter.com/thedanrobinson)
  • Red Hat, Google Engineers Work on a Way for Kubernetes to Run Containers Without Docker (http://thenewstack.io/oci-building-way-kubernetes-run-containers-without-docker/)
  • By Scott M. Fulton III (https://twitter.com/SMFulton3)
  • Building Kubernetes Communities One Event at a Time (https://apprenda.com/blog/building-kubernetes-communities-one-event-time/?utm_campaign=coschedule&utm_source=twitter&utm_medium=Apprenda&utm_content=Building%20Kubernetes%20Communities%20One%20Event%20at%20a%20Time)
  • By Sean Ludwig (https://twitter.com/seanludwig)
  • Supergiant Builds on Kubernetes to Manage Multitenancy for Distributed Applications (http://thenewstack.io/supergiant-builds-kubernetes-manage-multi-tenancy-distributed-applications/)
  • By Susan Hall (https://twitter.com/hallsd)
  • How to monitor your Kubernetes cluster (http://www.coscale.com/blog/how-to-monitor-your-kubernetes-cluster)
  • By Matthew Demyttenaere (https://twitter.com/matdemy)
  • Google Pledges to Integrate Apigee with Kubernetes (http://containerjournal.com/2016/09/20/google-pledges-integrate-apigee-kubernetes/)
  • By Mike Vizard (https://twitter.com/mvizard)
  • Approaching Kubernetes Adoption in Your Organization (https://deis.com/blog/2016/kubernetes-adoption-your-organisation/)
  • By Jason Singer DuMars (https://twitter.com/jaydumars)
  • Top 5: Disk space management on Linux, Container orchestration with Kubernetes, and more (https://opensource.com/life/16/9/top-5-september-23)
  • By Jen Wike Huger (https://twitter.com/JenWike)
  • Containerizing WSO2 Middleware (https://medium.com/container-mind/containerizing-wso2-middleware-9398da54d553#.uozv5njbz)
  • By Imesh Gunaratne (https://twitter.com/imesh)
  • Database Containerization Platform Checklist For Stateful Applications (http://blog.calsoftinc.com/industry_insights/database-containerization-platform-checklist-stateful-applications)

Presentations

  • Decoded Episode 3 – Decoding the DevOps Movement (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a9Yi05GjR-I)
  • By John Shewchuk (https://twitter.com/johnshew) ; meets with Gabe Monroy (https://twitter.com/gabrtv) of Deis and DevOps fame, to talk about the DevOps movement, master recipes and best practices
  • Kubernetes Community Meeting 20160922 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s-ljL4Nm1Zw)
  • Demo: Navops Command; 1.4 release update; 1.4 feature (and Release Notes) status; 1.5 feature planning.
  • The Cloudcast #269 – Putting Docker in Your Brain (http://linkis.com/www.thecloudcast.net/RJ6Kt)
  • By Aaron Delp (https://twitter.com/aarondelp) & Brian Gracely (https://twitter.com/bgracely) ; talks with Nigel Poulton (https://twitter.com/nigelpoulton) about the evolution from VMware to Docker communities
  • Kubernetes and Spinnaker (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_WB3JumYeh8)
  • By Isaac Mosquera (https://twitter.com/imosquera) ; There are many misconceptions of how Spinnaker works with Kubernetes. On this on-air call we hope to shine some light on why Spinnaker is a great fit for Kubernetes and continuous delivery
  • Demo of Cabin (https://vimeo.com/noellechun/review/182642456/eaaab51442)
  • By Sebastien Goasguen (https://twitter.com/sebgoa)
  • Ccustom Admission Control in Kubernetes (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uo_sTYnAEfU)
  • By Peter Miron (https://twitter.com/petemiron) ; resentation at the New York Kubernetes Meetup ‘s September event; he demonstrates creating a custom Admission Control in Kubernetes — Restricting which pods can access which secrets.
  • Kubernetes Meetup September 2016 – Next Frontier for Container Platforms (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lFuWD8sthEg&feature=youtu.be)
  • By Ken Robertson (https://twitter.com/krobertson) ; builds, deploys, manages, and monitors applications and infrastructure at scale
  • Composable Kubernetes Install Tour via Digital Rebar (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ydfOP_pHxo4)
  • By Rob Hirschfeld (https://twitter.com/zehicle) ; Deep dive into Kubernetes installation including how to secure the services and build the cluster in an automated multi-cloud way

Slideshare

  • Java one kubernetes, jenkins and microservices (http://www.slideshare.net/ceposta/java-one-kubernetes-jenkins-and-microservices)
  • By Christian Posta (https://twitter.com/christianposta)
  • K8s idm-devfest (http://www.slideshare.net/MarcBoorshtein/k8s-idmdevfest)
  • By Marc Boorshtein (https://twitter.com/mlbiam) ; Presentation from DevFestDC about Kubernetes and identity management
  • Docker & kubernetes intro (http://www.slideshare.net/arnonrgo/docker-kubernetes-intro)
  • By Arnon Rotem-Gal-Oz (https://twitter.com/arnonrgo) ; short introduction to Docker and Kubernetes

Upcoming Events

  • Boston Area Kubernetes and Openshift Meetup (https://www.meetup.com/Boston-Area-Kubernetes-Meetup/)
  • September 26. Boston
  • Kubernetes for Java Developers (http://www.oreilly.com/live-training/kubernetes-for-java-developers.html?cmp=tw-prog-olreg-lp-oltrain_kubernetes_for_java_devopers_092816)
  • September 28, Online
  • Kubernetes Workshop (on Google Container Engine) – Basics to Advanced (https://www.eventbrite.com/e/kubernetes-workshop-on-google-container-engine-basics-to-advanced-tickets-27187739260?utm_content=buffer0fdd8&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer)
  • September 29, Istanbul
  • Kubernetes Architecture 101 (http://www.kubernetes.live/)
  • September 29, Webinar
  • LinuxCon+ContainerCon Europe 2016 (https://linuxconcontainerconeurope2016.sched.org/event/7oHK/bringing-security-and-multi-tenancy-to-kubernetes-lei-zhang-kubernetes-project)
  • October 4-6, Berlin
  • DevOps in the Age of Docker and Kubernetes (https://apprenda.com/event/devops-in-the-age-of-docker-and-kubernetes/)
  • October 7, Webinar
  • Roadshow Container Seminar (http://seminar.containerdays.de/)
  • October 6-7, Cologne
  • October 21-22, Hamburg
  • KubeCon (http://events.linuxfoundation.org/events/kubecon)
  • November 8-9, Seattle
  • co-located with CloudNativeCon
  • 2-Day-Workshop: From Zero to Hero with Microservices (https://www.eventbrite.com/e/2-day-workshop-from-zero-to-hero-with-microservices-tickets-27926411649)
  • November 8-9, Webinar

Literature

  • Kubernetes: Up and Running: Dive into the Future of Infrastructure (https://www.amazon.com/Kubernetes-Running-Dive-Future-Infrastructure/dp/1491935677?SubscriptionId=AKIAJ2HQNLFCLUOUMLHQ&tag=zippylab-20&linkCode=sp1&camp=2025&creative=165953&creativeASIN=1491935677&zpy=1)
  • By Kelsey Hightower (https://twitter.com/kelseyhightower) ; This practical book will prepare you to take advantage of everything the Kubernetes platform has to offer
  • Docker in Practice (https://www.amazon.com/Docker-Practice-Ian-Miell/dp/1617292729?SubscriptionId=AKIAJ2HQNLFCLUOUMLHQ&tag=zippylab-20&linkCode=sp1&camp=2025&creative=165953&creativeASIN=1617292729&zpy=1)
  • By Ian Miell (https://twitter.com/ianmiell) & Aidan Hobson Sayers (https://twitter.com/aidanhs) ; a hands-on guide that covers 101 specific techniques you can use to get
  • The Art of Monitoring (https://www.amazon.com/Art-Monitoring-James-Turnbull-ebook/dp/B01GU387MS?SubscriptionId=AKIAJ2HQNLFCLUOUMLHQ&tag=zippylab-20&linkCode=sp1&camp=2025&creative=165953&creativeASIN=B01GU387MS&zpy=1)
  • By James Turnbull (https://twitter.com/kartar) ; written for both developers and sysadmins; focused on building monitored and measurable applications