Technical

  • Private Registry for #Kubernetes Cluster (https://pinrojas.com/2016/09/13/private-registry-for-kubernetes-cluster/)
  • By Mau (https://twitter.com/pinrojas)
  • Open Container Initiative-based implementation of Kubernetes Container Runtime Interface (https://github.com/kubernetes-incubator/ocid)
  • By Antonio Murdaca (https://twitter.com/runc0m)
  • Dashboard v1.4.0 (https://github.com/kubernetes/dashboard/releases)
  • By Piotr Bryk (https://github.com/bryk)
  • Configuration file for command line switches (https://github.com/kubernetes/kops/pull/432)
  • By Kris Childress (https://twitter.com/KrisNovember)
  • CoreOS Hyperkube v1.4.0-beta.3 now available (https://groups.google.com/forum/#!msg/coreos-user/rp6N044k-bY/eYTKFIc3EAAJ)
  • By Aaron Levy (https://twitter.com/levie)
  • Performing Maintenance on Pods (https://www.ianlewis.org/en/performing-maintenance-pods)
  • By Ian Lewis (https://twitter.com/IanMLewis)
  • How to Use Open Virtual Networking With Kubernetes (https://github.com/openvswitch/ovn-kubernetes/blob/master/README.md)
  • By Gurucharan Shetty (https://github.com/shettyg)
  • Push a Docker DAB to a Kubernetes Cluster in Two Commands! (https://deis.com/blog/2016/push-docker-dab-kubernetes-cluster/)
  • By Lachlan Evenson (https://twitter.com/lachlanevenson)
  • [Pet Set] Internal Replicas type should be int32 (https://github.com/kubernetes/kubernetes/issues/32993)
  • By DuJun (https://github.com/m1093782566)
  • kubectl: unexpected signal during runtime execution (https://github.com/kubernetes/kubernetes/issues/33070)
  • By Hans Kristian Flaatten (https://twitter.com/starefossen)
  • Microservices’ benefits are clear, but getting there may not be (http://searchcloudapplications.techtarget.com/news/450304101/Microservices-benefits-are-clear-but-getting-there-may-not-be)
  • By Joel Shore (https://www.linkedin.com/in/joel-shore-63a668)
  • Corral your Docker containers with Kubernetes monitoring (https://www.datadoghq.com/blog/corral-your-docker-containers-with-kubernetes-monitoring/)
  • By J.M. Saponaro (https://twitter.com/JMSaponaro)
  • Configure and Manage a Kubernetes HAProxy Ingress Controller (https://stackpointcloud.com/community/tutorial/configure-and-manage-a-kubernetes-haproxy-ingress-controller)
  • By Matt Baldwin (https://twitter.com/baldwinmathew)
  • Clustering Elixir nodes on Kubernetes (https://substance.brpx.com/clustering-elixir-nodes-on-kubernetes-e85d0c26b0cf#.oqo4fg93c)
  • By André Cruz (https://twitter.com/satazor)

Blogs/Articles:

  • Five Months of Kubernetes (http://danielmartins.ninja/posts/five-months-of-kubernetes.html)
  • By Daniel Martins (https://twitter.com/danielfmt)
  • StackPointCloud Announces First Commercial HAProxy for Kubernetes (https://blog.stackpoint.io/stackpointcloud-announces-first-commercial-haproxy-for-kubernetes-401db1eaa466#.ll25d755b)
  • By StackPointCloud (https://twitter.com/StackPointCloud)
  • Underneath CloudMunch Turbo: Jenkins at scale using Kubernetes (http://www.cloudmunch.com/underneath-cloudmunch-turbo-jenkins-scale-using-kubernetes/)
  • By Prasanna Raghavendra (https://twitter.com/vinsanna)
  • Prometheus and Kubernetes: Deploying (https://www.weave.works/prometheus-kubernetes-deploying/)
  • By Tom Wilkie (https://twitter.com/tom_wilkie)
  • Kubernetes Proving That it Cannot be Contained (https://yourdailytech.com/storage-architecture/kubernetes-proving-that-it-cannot-be-contained/?utm_content=bufferb8fa4&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer)
  • By Lindsey Cobb (https://yourdailytech.com/author/lindsey/)
  • How Apprenda hosted Hands-on Kubernetes Training with Katacoda (https://medium.com/@katacoda/how-apprenda-hosted-hands-on-kubernetes-training-with-katacoda-85a67126da94#.2lhcgih6s)
  • By Ben Hall (https://twitter.com/Ben_Hall)
  • Mirantis Acquires TCP Cloud to Advance Kubernetes Ambitions (http://containerjournal.com/2016/09/15/mirantis-acquires-tcp-cloud-advance-kubernetes-ambitions/)
  • By Mike Vizard (https://twitter.com/mvizard)
  • Mirantis grabs Kubernetes maestro to orchestrate OpenStack inversion (http://www.theregister.co.uk/2016/09/15/mirantis_buys_kubernetes_brains/)
  • By Gavin Clarke (https://twitter.com/gavin_clarke)
  • New Mobile App Lets You Manage Kubernetes Clusters on the Go (http://ostatic.com/blog/new-mobile-app-lets-you-manage-kubernetes-clusters-on-the-go#rss?utm_source=twitter&utm_medium=ZootRock&utm_campaign=@KenApex&utm_keyword=ZootRock)
  • By Sam Dean (https://twitter.com/SamAugustDean)
  • Techforward Kubernetes Presentation and Quick Notes (http://turbonomic.com/blog/on-technology/techforward-kubernetes-presentation-and-quick-notes/?utm_source=dabcc)
  • By Eric Wright (https://twitter.com/discoposse)
  • What is the largest Kubernetes cluster that exists? (https://www.quora.com/What-is-the-largest-Kubernetes-cluster-that-exists/answer/Joseph-Jacks-1?srid=pNcj&share=dfb86a50)
  • By Joseph Jacks (https://twitter.com/asynchio)
  • Parity Check: Node.js, JVM and the Surprising Results About Docker Swarm (http://thenewstack.io/parity-check-node-js-jvm-containers/)
  • By Lawrence Hecht (https://twitter.com/LawrenceHecht)
  • VMWorld 2016 Interview With Platform9 (https://kubeweekly.com/kubeweekly-51/)
  • By Kasia Lorenc (https://twitter.com/kasialorenc)
  • SoftBank Invests in Bare Metal Cloud Startup (http://www.enterprisetech.com/2016/09/14/softbank-invests-bare-metal-cloud-startup/)
  • By George Leopold (https://twitter.com/gleopold1)
  • How OpenStack And Containers Are Reshaping Networking (http://www.networkcomputing.com/data-centers/how-openstack-and-containers-are-reshaping-networking/1488525034)
  • By Tom Hollingsworth (https://twitter.com/networkingnerd)
  • Cloud Foundry’s Service Broker API Role in Kubernetes and Open Source Platforms (http://thenewstack.io/cloud-foundrys-service-broker-api-role-in-kubernetes-and-open-source-platforms/)
  • By Chip Childers (https://twitter.com/chipchilders)
  • Dockers Containers only to shine more with Kubernetes (http://vitalflux.com/dockers-containers-only-to-shine-more-with-kubernetes/)
  • By Ajitesh Kumar (https://twitter.com/eajitesh)

Presentations:

  • Getting Started with Node js DevOps Stack; Docker and Kubernetes (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o1fyi06b0lY&feature=youtu.be&a)
  • By Nathan White (https://twitter.com/nw) & Will Blankenship (https://twitter.com/retrohack3r) ; Walk through how to get started with Node.js, Docker and Kubernetes and cover the pitfalls that often occur when starting and how to avoid them.
  • Kubernetes Cloud Native Online Meetup (https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B1XqnbWo4rihOXpXWTV4blpNalU/view)
  • Containers, FTW!!! (https://www.infoq.com/presentations/containers-microservices-mesos-kubernetes?utm_campaign=infoq_content&utm_source=infoq&utm_medium=feed&utm_term=global)
  • Michael Hausenblas (https://twitter.com/mhausenblas) introduces containers, microservices and dealing with security, monitoring and troubleshooting using Apache Mesos/Marathon and Kubernetes. Note:contains strong language.
  • Digital Rebar Quick Start to K8s (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bn4LLNtPF6c)
  • By Rob Hirschfeld (https://twitter.com/zehicle) ; Digital Rebar Quick Start using AWS goes from nothing to running Kubernetes in about 20 minutes.
  • How CoreOS Tectonic is Streamlining Kubernetes for the Enterprise (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2o54W3SYmYk)
  • Explore how CoreOS’s enterprise-level Kubernetes platform Tectonic allows developers to better on-board and manage their Kubernetes-based stack
  • Context: Kubernetes, OpenStack and How SAP Built its Own Containerized Platform (http://thenewstack.io/context-kubernetes-openstack-go-together-end/)
  • Podcast at the New Stack; by Scott M Fulton III (https://twitter.com/SMFulton3)
  • Kubernetes Community Meeting 9/15, 2016 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QMHr3puvX6M)
  • Demo “K8s & Distributed Trusted Computing in Practice”; SIG Cluster Ops; SIG Autoscaling; 1.5 feature planning; 1.4 release update.
  • Spring Boot Microservice with Kubernetes and Fabric8 (3/3) (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZjW7l5ZjeNY)
  • Building out the kubernetes hands on lab (http://bit.ly/kubernetes-lab) from scratch with the Spring Boot hello service app
  • A Practical Guide to Container Scheduling (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hmB8GP5-cMg)
  • By Mandy Waite (https://twitter.com/tekgrrl) ; Recorded at GOTO Stockholm 2016

Slideshare:

  • K (http://www.slideshare.net/chrisaarongaun5/kubernetes-community-growth-and-use-case-66066001) ubernetes Community Growth and Use Case (http://www.slideshare.net/chrisaarongaun5/kubernetes-community-growth-and-use-case-66066001)
  • ByChris Gaun (https://twitter.com/Chris_Gaun)

Upcoming Events:

  • Roadshow Container Seminar (http://seminar.containerdays.de/)
  • September 22-23, Frankfurt
  • October 6-7, Cologne
  • October 21-22, Hamburg
  • Boston Area Kubernetes and Openshift Meetup (https://www.meetup.com/Boston-Area-Kubernetes-Meetup/)
  • September 26. Boston
  • Kubernetes for Java Developers (http://www.oreilly.com/live-training/kubernetes-for-java-developers.html?cmp=tw-prog-olreg-lp-oltrain_kubernetes_for_java_devopers_092816)
  • September 28, Online
  • Kubernetes Workshop (on Google Container Engine) – Basics to Advanced (https://www.eventbrite.com/e/kubernetes-workshop-on-google-container-engine-basics-to-advanced-tickets-27187739260?utm_content=buffer0fdd8&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer)
  • September 29, Istanbul
  • LinuxCon+ContainerCon Europe 2016 (https://linuxconcontainerconeurope2016.sched.org/event/7oHK/bringing-security-and-multi-tenancy-to-kubernetes-lei-zhang-kubernetes-project)
  • October 4-6, Berlin
  • DevOps in the Age of Docker and Kubernetes (https://apprenda.com/event/devops-in-the-age-of-docker-and-kubernetes/)
  • October 7, Webinar
  • KubeCon (http://events.linuxfoundation.org/events/kubecon)
  • November 8-9, Seattle
  • co-located with CloudNativeCon

Literature

  • Kubernetes Microservices with Docker Kindle Edition (https://www.amazon.com/Kubernetes-Microservices-Docker-Vohra-ebook/dp/B01FXJ9OB8?SubscriptionId=AKIAJ2HQNLFCLUOUMLHQ&tag=zippylab-20&linkCode=sp1&camp=2025&creative=165953&creativeASIN=B01FXJ9OB8&zpy=1#nav-subnav)
  • This book on Kubernetes, the container cluster manager, discusses all aspects of using Kubernetes in today’s complex big data and enterprise applications, including Docker containers.
  • Getting Started with Kubernetes (https://www.amazon.com/Getting-Started-Kubernetes-Jonathan-Baier/dp/1784394033?SubscriptionId=AKIAJ2HQNLFCLUOUMLHQ&tag=zippylab-20&linkCode=sp1&camp=2025&creative=165953&creativeASIN=1784394033&zpy=1)
  • By Jonathan Baier (https://twitter.com/grizzbaier) ; Orchestrate and manage large-scale Docker deployments with Kubernetes to unlock greater control over your infrastructure and extend your containerization strategy
  • Site Reliability Engineering: How Google Runs Production Systems 1st Edition (https://www.amazon.com/Site-Reliability-Engineering-Production-Systems/dp/149192912X?SubscriptionId=AKIAJ2HQNLFCLUOUMLHQ&tag=zippylab-20&linkCode=sp1&camp=2025&creative=165953&creativeASIN=149192912X&zpy=1)
  • Betsey Beyer (https://www.linkedin.com/in/betsy-beyer-5b80712) , Chris Jones (https://twitter.com/mrchris_jones) , Jennifer Petoff (https://twitter.com/jennski) & Niall Richard Murphy (https://www.linkedin.com/in/niallm) ; collection of essays and articles, key members of Google’s Site Reliability Team explain how and why their commitment to the entire lifecycle has enabled the company to successfully build, deploy, monitor, and maintain some of the largest software systems in the world
  • Kubernetes: Up and Running: Dive into the Future of Infrastructure (https://www.amazon.com/Kubernetes-Running-Dive-Future-Infrastructure/dp/1491935677?SubscriptionId=AKIAJ2HQNLFCLUOUMLHQ&tag=zippylab-20&linkCode=sp1&camp=2025&creative=165953&creativeASIN=1491935677&zpy=1)
  • By Kelsey Hightower (https://twitter.com/kelseyhightower) ; This practical book will prepare you to take advantage of everything the Kubernetes platform has to offer.
  • Kubernetes Cookbook (https://www.amazon.com/Kubernetes-Cookbook-Hideto-Saito-ebook/dp/B01D00F30I?SubscriptionId=AKIAJ2HQNLFCLUOUMLHQ&tag=zippylab-20&linkCode=sp1&camp=2025&creative=165953&creativeASIN=B01D00F30I&zpy=1#nav-subnav)
  • Learn how to automate and manage your Linux containers and improve the overall performance of your system