Technical

  • Kubernetes Scripts (https://www.npmjs.com/package/k8s-scripts)
  • By Ross Kukulinski (https://twitter.com/rosskukulinski)
  • Scuttlebutt: Listen in on all the gossip going on in your kubernetes cluster (https://github.com/kubernetes-incubator/node-feature-discovery)
  • By doug tangren (https://twitter.com/softprops)
  • Using Vault as a Certificate Authority for Kubernetes (https://www.digitalocean.com/company/blog/vault-and-kubernetes/?utm_content=buffer5a383&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer)
  • By Tommy Murphy (https://twitter.com/tam7t)
  • Migrating from Fleet to Kubernetes using Deis Workflow on AWS (https://medium.com/@rogerleite/migrating-production-paas-deis-v1-to-workflow-at-amazon-c3fb373a260b#.z29z6s529)
  • By Roger Leite (https://twitter.com/rogerleite)
  • How to create application load balancer on aws for kubernetes (http://stackoverflow.com/questions/39350376/how-to-create-application-load-balancer-on-aws-for-kubernetes)
  • Creating a PostgreSQL Cluster using Helm (http://blog.kubernetes.io/2016/09/creating-postgresql-cluster-using-helm.html)
  • By Jeff McCormick (https://www.linkedin.com/in/jeff-mccormick-361877)
  • Off-Cluster Kubernetes Logging With Sumo Logic and Logentries (https://deis.com/blog/2016/off-cluster-kubernetes-logging-sumo-logic-and-logentries/)
  • By Jason Singer DuMars (https://twitter.com/jaydumars)
  • Trusting Who’s at the Helm (https://deis.com/blog/2016/trusting-whos-at-the-helm/)
  • By Lachlan Evenson (https://twitter.com/LachlanEvenson)
  • Transforms docker-compose, ECS, and Marathon configurations (https://github.com/micahhausler/container-transform)
  • By Micah Hausler (https://twitter.com/micahhausler)
  • Running WordPress on Kubernetes (https://www.linux-toys.com/?p=887)
  • How to easily deploy Gitlab on Kubernetes (http://blog.lwolf.org/post/how-to-easily-deploy-gitlab-on-kubernetes/)
  • By Sergey Nuzhdin (https://twitter.com/SergeyNuzhdin)

Blogs/Articles:

  • Prometheus and Kubernetes: A Perfect Match (https://www.weave.works/prometheus-kubernetes-perfect-match/)
  • By Tom Wilkie (https://twitter.com/tom_wilkie)
  • Why we chose Kubernetes for cloud platform management (https://blog.husarlabs.com/why-we-chose-kubernetes-for-cloud-platform-management-33b4aa394bb7#.urdsfqnzf)
  • By Krzysztof Drożyński (https://twitter.com/DrozynskiK)
  • Container Clustering & Management: Docker Swarm, Kubernetes & Apache Mesos and Marathon (http://blog.calsoftinc.com/2016/09/container-clustering-management.html)
  • By Yogesh Patil (https://twitter.com/yogesh_p_p)
  • Continuous Delivery for Kubernetes (http://www.cloudmunch.com/continuous-delivery-for-kubernetes/)
  • By Rosmi Chandy (https://www.linkedin.com/in/rosmi-chandy-328baa4)
  • Deploying to Multiple Kubernetes Clusters with kit (http://blog.kubernetes.io/2016/09/deploying-to-multiple-kubernetes-with-kit.html?utm_content=bufferf2361&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer)
  • By Chesley Brown (https://twitter.com/Chesley)
  • Building a Reliable Kubernetes Cluster in the Amazon Cloud (https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/building-reliable-kubernetes-cluster-amazon-cloud-oleg-chunikhin)
  • By Oleg Chunikhin (https://twitter.com/olgch)
  • Skippbox announces Cabin, the first mobile app for Kubernetes™ container orchestration system (http://globenewswire.com/news-release/2016/09/06/869565/0/en/Skippbox-announces-Cabin-the-first-mobile-app-for-Kubernetes-container-orchestration-system.html)
  • Press Release
  • DigitalOcean to Use Vault as a Certificate Authority to Manage Kubernetes (http://www.martechadvisor.com/news/cloudiaaspaas/digitalocean-to-use-vault-as-a-certificate-authority-to-manage-kubernetes/)
  • By Sneha Nalawade (https://twitter.com/SnehaMTA)
  • Why Kubernetes is winning the container war (http://www.infoworld.com/article/3118345/cloud-computing/why-kubernetes-is-winning-the-container-war.html)
  • By Matt Asay (https://twitter.com/mjasay)
  • Here’s Why This Software Scuffle Should Matter to Non-Techies (http://fortune.com/2016/09/06/docker-software-swarm/)
  • By Barb Darrow (https://twitter.com/gigabarb)
  • New Mobile App Lets You Manage Kubernetes Clusters on the Go (http://ostatic.com/blog/new-mobile-app-lets-you-manage-kubernetes-clusters-on-the-go)
  • By Sam Dean (https://twitter.com/SamAugustDean)
  • Docker fork talk prompts container standardization brawl (http://searchitoperations.techtarget.com/news/450303918/Docker-fork-talk-prompts-container-standardization-brawl?utm_medium=EM&asrc=EM_NLN_64031819&utm_campaign=20160908_Docker%20forking%20debate;%20IT%20monitoring%20tools%20for%20sys%20management;%20and%20more_tculverhouse&utm_source=NLN&track=NL-1811&ad=909872&src=909872)
  • By Beth Pariseau (https://twitter.com/PariseauTT)
  • Google’s infrastructure for everyone else (http://www.infoworld.com/article/3116404/cloud-computing/googles-infrastructure-for-everyone-else.html)
  • By Khash Sajadi (https://twitter.com/khash)
  • Kubernetes Proving That it Cannot be Contained (https://yourdailytech.com/storage-architecture/kubernetes-proving-that-it-cannot-be-contained/?utm_campaign=shareaholic&utm_medium=twitter&utm_source=socialnetwork)
  • By Lindsey Cobb (https://yourdailytech.com/author/lindsey/)

Upcoming Events:

  • Kubernetes 101: Gain Practical Knowledge of Kubernetes Container Orchestration (https://apprenda.com/event/boston-kubernetes-day/)
  • September 13, Boston
  • Running Apache Flink everywhere: Standalone, Yarn, Mesos, Docker, Kubernetes, etc. (http://flink-forward.org/kb_sessions/running-apache-flink-everywhere-standalone-yarn-mesos-docker-kubernetes-etc/)
  • September 13, Maschinenhaus
  • September Kubernetes Training (https://www.eventbrite.com/e/september-kubernetes-training-san-francisco-tickets-26936096590)
  • September 13-14, San Francisco
  • soirée Kubernetes (https://www.meetup.com/GDG-Cloud-Paris/events/233816073/)
  • September 14, Paris
  • OpenShift and Lessons on Saving on AWS w K8S (http://www.meetup.com/Berlin-Kubernetes-Meetup/events/233448496/?eventId=233448496&chapter_analytics_code=UA-70291549-4)
  • September 14, Berlin
  • OpenShift 3 Hands-On Workshop (http://www.meetup.com/Boston-OpenShift-Meetup/events/229143049/)
  • September 19, Boston
  • Roadshow Container Seminar (http://seminar.containerdays.de/)
  • September 22-23, Frankfurt
  • October 6-7, Cologne
  • October 21-22, Hamburg
  • Kubernetes for Java Developers (http://www.oreilly.com/live-training/kubernetes-for-java-developers.html?cmp=tw-prog-olreg-lp-oltrain_kubernetes_for_java_devopers_092816)
  • September 28, Online
  • Kubernetes Workshop (on Google Container Engine) – Basics to Advanced (https://www.eventbrite.com/e/kubernetes-workshop-on-google-container-engine-basics-to-advanced-tickets-27187739260?utm_content=buffer0fdd8&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer)
  • September 28, Istanbul
  • LinuxCon+ContainerCon Europe 2016 (https://linuxconcontainerconeurope2016.sched.org/event/7oHK/bringing-security-and-multi-tenancy-to-kubernetes-lei-zhang-kubernetes-project)
  • October 4-6, Berlin
  • KubeCon (http://events.linuxfoundation.org/events/kubecon)
  • Nov 8-9, Seattle
  • co-located with CloudNativeCon

Slideshare:

  • Project Frankenstein: A multitenant, horizontally scalable Prometheus as a service (http://www.slideshare.net/weaveworks/project-frankenstein-a-multitenant-horizontally-scalable-prometheus-as-a-service)
  • By Tom Wilkie (https://twitter.com/tom_wilkie) & Julius Volz (https://twitter.com/juliusvolz) ; a prototype solution for multitenant, scale-out Prometheus
  • Containers – If Software is Eating the World, It needs a nice place to stay (http://www.slideshare.net/GeoffSullivan2/containers-65755082?utm_content=buffer17fb7&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer)
  • By Geoff Sullivan (https://twitter.com/sullivg2) ; basic overview of Linux containers. The technology, the benefits to DevOps, the business case, the market and the future
  • Kubernetes: A very brief intro to Namespaces (https://speakerdeck.com/thockin/kubernetes-a-very-brief-intro-to-namespaces)
  • By Tim Hockin (https://twitter.com/thockin?lang=en) ; ultra-short deck is an attempt to demystify it a little.

Presentations:

  • rktnetes: what’s new with container engines and Kubernetes (https://www.infoq.com/fr/presentations/cncf-jonathan-boulle-rktnetes?utm_content=buffer93483&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer)
  • Podcast by Jonathan Boulle (https://twitter.com/baronboulle)
  • SIG-cluster-lifecycle 6th September 2016 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8cirvYVhRoI)
  • By Luke Marsden (https://twitter.com/lmarsden)
  • NEXT Keynote Speech LIVE delivery
  • By GCP Next Tokyo
  • Building Next-Generation Ops Tools With Kubernetes Video
  • By Christian Sinai (https://twitter.com/christian_sinai) ; See what a Google dev advocate has to say on abstraction, Kubernetes, operations, and the future of cloud computing in this presentation.
  • Scalable Microservices with Kubernetes (https://www.udacity.com/course/scalable-microservices-with-kubernetes–ud615)
  • By Kelsey Hightower (https://twitter.com/kelseyhightower) & Carter Morgan (https://twitter.com/_askcarter) & Adrian Cockcroft (https://twitter.com/adrianco) ; course is designed to teach you about managing application containers, using Kubernetes
  • The Complete DevOps Engineer Course 2.0 – Java & Kubernetes
  • a comprehensive course but with over 150 lessons
  • Google shows Kubernetes containers Multi-Cloud Deployment & Management (Video) (https://dutchitchannel.nl/561159/google-toont-kubernetes-containers-multi-cloud-deployment-en-management.html)
  • Panel: Whither Security in a Cloud-Native World? (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MtxLmOgc3v8&feature=youtu.be)
  • By CNCF (https://twitter.com/CloudNativeFdn) & Christopher Lijenstople (https://twitter.com/liljenstolpe) ; This panel will discuss what the world looks like after that collision: How will applications be secured? Who will define security policies?
  • The Cloudcast #267 – Microservices Memoirs (http://linkis.com/www.thecloudcast.net/64By6)
  • By Aaron Delp (https://twitter.com/aarondelp) & Brian Gracely (https://twitter.com/bgracely) ; talks with Lachlan Evenson (https://twitter.com/LachlanEvenson) about their journey from a v1 to v2 hybrid cloud, how they created internal “ambassadors” for the cloud, how they better understood developer needs and started the adoption of containers, and how they thought about monoliths, microservices and the use of K8 in their new v2 platform
  • Microservices and OpenShift/Kubernetes Config Maps (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6dWvBotb_Ns)
  • By Rafael Benevides (https://twitter.com/rafabene) ; shows how Microservices can use external configuration (as defined in the 12factor-app methodology)

Literature

  • Infrastructure as Code: Managing Servers in the Cloud 1st Edition (https://www.amazon.com/Infrastructure-Code-Managing-Servers-Cloud/dp/1491924357?SubscriptionId=AKIAJ2HQNLFCLUOUMLHQ&tag=zippylab-20&linkCode=sp1&camp=2025&creative=165953&creativeASIN=1491924357&zpy=1)
  • “With this practical guide, author Kief Morris (https://twitter.com/kief) of ThoughtWorks shows you how to effectively use principles, practices, and patterns pioneered through the DevOps movement to manage cloud age infrastructure.”