Technical:

  • Kubernetes/PaaS: Automated Test Framework (http://www.devoperandi.com/kubernetespaas-automated-test-framework/)
  • By Michael (https://twitter.com/DevoperandI)
  • Using Cloud Foundry’s UAA for Kubernetes authentication (http://apigee.com/about/blog/engineering/kubernetes-authentication-enterprise?utm_content=buffer50775&utm_medium=social&utm_source=linkedin.com&utm_campaign=buffer)
  • By Jeremy Whitlock (https://twitter.com/whitlockjc)
  • Provisioning the Azure Kubernetes infrastructure with a declarative template (https://blogs.msdn.microsoft.com/stephgou/2016/08/19/provisioning-the-azure-kubernetes-infrastructure-with-a-declarative-template/)
  • By Stéphane GOUDEAU (https://twitter.com/stephgou66)
  • Configuring the Ultimate Development Environment for Kubernetes (http://thenewstack.io/tutorial-configuring-ultimate-development-environment-kubernetes/)
  • By Janakiram MSV (https://twitter.com/janakiramm)
  • Kubernetes in Action: Introducing Replication Controllers (https://medium.com/@marko.luksa/kubernetes-in-action-introducing-replication-controllers-aaa2c05e0b4e#.mgtv14shc)
  • By Marko Lukša (https://twitter.com/markoluksa)
  • Stateful Applications with Kubernetes 1.3 Using Datera Elastic Data Fabric (http://datera.io/blog-library/8/19/datera-simplifies-stateful-containers-on-kubernetes-13#NextGenApps)
  • By Ashok Rajagopalan (https://www.linkedin.com/in/asrajagopalan)
  • Everything you need to know about the Kubernetes Raspberry Pi cluster (https://medium.com/google-cloud/everything-you-need-to-know-about-the-kubernetes-raspberry-pi-cluster-2a2413bfa0fa#.c1pmvyy6n)
  • By Ray Tsang (https://twitter.com/saturnism)
  • Setting up Kubernetes on Scaleway – Part 1 (http://larmog.github.io/2016/08/17/setting-up-kubernetes-on-scaleway—part-1/)
  • By Lars Mogren (https://twitter.com/larmog)
  • Kubernetes: Introduction to PetSet and bootstrap a cluster Consul (http://blog.osones.com/kubernetes-introduction-aux-petset-et-bootstrap-dun-cluster-consul.html?utm_content=buffer276d6&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer)
  • By Kevin Lefevre (https://twitter.com/klefevre_)
  • Convert Google Compute Engine (GCE) autoscaling instance groups to Kubernetes autoscaling deployments (https://github.com/kelseyhightower/krane)
  • By Kelsey Hightower (https://twitter.com/kelseyhightower)
  • Creating Deployments on Kubernetes with Rancher (http://rancher.com/getting-micro-services-production-kubernetes/)
  • By Usman Ismail (https://twitter.com/usman_ismail)
  • Deploying 1000 nodes of OpenShift on the CNCF Cluster (Part 1) (https://cncf.io/news/blogs/2016/08/deploying-1000-nodes-openshift-cncf-cluster-part-1)
  • By Jeremy Eder (https://twitter.com/jeremyeder)
  • Making ASP.NET apps first-class citizens on Google Cloud Platform (https://cloudplatform.googleblog.com/2016/08/making-ASP.NET-apps-first-class-citizens-on-Google-Cloud-Platform.html)
  • By Chris Sells (https://twitter.com/csells)
  • How to create worker cert for Coreos kubernetes aws cluster (http://stackoverflow.com/questions/39141877/how-to-create-worker-cert-for-coreos-kubernetes-aws-cluster)
  • By Gleeb

Blogs/Articles:

  • Exploring Kubernetes as a Mesos Framework: Does it make sense? (https://developer.ibm.com/opentech/2016/08/23/exploring-kubernetes-as-a-mesos-framework-does-it-make-sense/)
  • By Khalid Ahmed (https://twitter.com/khalida9031)
  • VMware Ties Kubernetes to Integrated OpenStack (http://containerjournal.com/2016/08/26/vmware-ties-kubernetes-to-integrated-openstack/)
  • By Mike Vizard (https://twitter.com/mvizard)
  • 4 Ops things that I am excited about today. (https://glebbahmutov.com/blog/think-inside-the-box/)
  • By Dr. Gleb Mahmutov (https://twitter.com/bahmutov)
  • Kubernetes – container orchestration for the future (http://blog.1and1.com/2016/08/22/kubernetes-container-orchestration-for-the-future/#page-content)
  • By Jennie Jackson
  • Huawei Launches a Kubernetes-based Container Engine (http://thenewstack.io/huawei-launches-kubernetes-based-container-engine/)
  • By Joab Jackson (https://twitter.com/Joab_Jackson/)
  • StackPointCloud Provides Universal Azure Support for Kubernetes (https://blog.stackpoint.io/stackpointcloud-provides-universal-azure-support-for-kubernetes-9c8665847e6e#.8ud4cub3b)
  • By Stackpoint (https://twitter.com/stackpointcloud)
  • gRPC Project is now 1.0 and ready for production deployments (http://www.grpc.io/blog/gablogpost)
  • By Varun Talway & Kailash Sethuraman (https://twitter.com/hsaliak)
  • Mirantis to Fuse Kubernetes, CI/CD with Commercial OpenStack (http://www.datacenterknowledge.com/archives/2016/07/26/mirantis-fuse-kubernetes-cicd-commercial-openstack/?utm_content=buffer30325&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer)
  • By Scott Fulton III (https://twitter.com/SMFulton3)

Upcoming Events:

  • Kubernetes and Docker Bootcamp (KD100) (https://training.mirantis.com/instructor-led-training/kubernetes-docker-bootcamp)
  • August 29-30, Sunnyvale
  • CI and CD with Docker, Kubernetes and RedHat OpenShift (https://www.meetup.com/ContinuousDeliveryNYC/events/233146148/)
  • August 30, NYC
  • Mastering Microservices and Continuous Delivery (https://www.eventbrite.com/e/mastering-microservices-and-continuous-delivery-tickets-26707327335?aff=arun)
  • August 30, San Francisco
  • Managing High Availability Kubernetes Clusters for Production Workloads – August 2016 Online Meetup (http://rancher.com/event/managing-high-availability-kubernetes-clusters-production-workloads-august-2016-online-meetup/)
  • August 31, Online Meetup
  • Crash Course Kubernetes Session at VMWorld 2016 (http://discoposse.com/2016/08/05/techforward-crash-course-kubernetes-session-at-vmworld-2016/?utm_content=buffere1d3e&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer)
  • August 31, Las Vegas
  • Introduction to Kubernetes Workshop by CoreOS (https://www.eventbrite.com/e/introduction-to-kubernetes-workshop-by-coreos-tickets-27283764474)
  • September 1, NYC
  • Intro to Kubernetes (http://www.meetup.com/utahgophers/events/231090268/)
  • September 6, Lehi, Utah
  • Hands On Workshop: Learning Docker and Kubernetes with OpenShift Enterprise (http://www.meetup.com/Redpill-Linpro-DevOps/events/233610451/)
  • September 6, Oslo
  • Kubernetes with Weaveworks and Apcera (http://www.meetup.com/San-Francisco-Kubernetes-Meetup/events/233070422/?utm_campaign=Kubernetes&utm_content=32217926&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter)
  • September 7, San Francisco
  • Kubernetes Meetup #9: w/Special Guest CoreOS (http://www.meetup.com/ccog-meetup/events/231626869/)
  • September 7, Charlotte
  • Skippbox (http://www.eventbrite.com/o/skippbox-7948678975)
  • September 9; Online classes
    o Intro to Docker
    o Intro to Kubernetes
  • Kubernetes 101: Gain Practical Knowledge of Kubernetes Container Orchestration (https://apprenda.com/event/boston-kubernetes-day/)
  • September 13, Boston
  • September Kubernetes Training (https://www.eventbrite.com/e/september-kubernetes-training-san-francisco-tickets-26936096590)
  • September 13-14, San Francisco
  • OpenShift and Lessons on Saving on AWS w K8S (http://www.meetup.com/Berlin-Kubernetes-Meetup/events/233448496/?eventId=233448496&chapter_analytics_code=UA-70291549-4)
  • September 14, Berlin
  • OpenShift 3 Hands-On Workshop (http://www.meetup.com/Boston-OpenShift-Meetup/events/229143049/)
  • September 19, Boston
  • LinuxCon+ContainerCon Europe 2016 (https://linuxconcontainerconeurope2016.sched.org/event/7oHK/bringing-security-and-multi-tenancy-to-kubernetes-lei-zhang-kubernetes-project)
  • October 4-6, Berlin
  • KubeCon (http://events.linuxfoundation.org/events/kubecon)
  • Nov 8-9, Seattle
  • co-located with CloudNativeCon

Slideshare:

  • Deploy Applications with Containers (http://dw.connect.sys-con.com/session/2853/Jake_Moshenko.pdf)
  • By Jake Moshenko (https://twitter.com/jacobmoshenko)
  • CoreOS: A Tutorial on Hyperscale Infrastructure (https://speakerdeck.com/philips/coreos-a-tutorial-on-hyperscale-infrastructure)
  • By Brandon Philips (https://twitter.com/BrandonPhilips)

Presentations:

  • Python, Kubernetes and friends (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0tsaMVoydDg)
  • By Álex González (https://twitter.com/agonzalezro) ; Introductory talk on Kubernetes
  • Scalable Microservices with Kubernetes (https://www.udacity.com/course/scalable-microservices-with-kubernetes–ud615)
  • This course is designed to teach you about managing application containers, using Kubernetes
  • Tech ONTAP Podcast Episode 53: Developer Advocacy and Kubernetes (http://community.netapp.com/t5/Technology/Tech-ONTAP-Podcast-Episode-53-Developer-Advocacy-and-Kubernetes/ba-p/122447?utm_source=TWITTER&utm_medium=socialmedia&utm_content=550583814&utm_campaign=Data%20Centre)
  • Developer advocate rockstar Kelsey Hightower (https://twitter.com/kelseyhightower) from Google / Kubernetes! Kelsey gives us the run down on his views on advocacy vs. evangelism and where Kubernetes fits in with a changing IT landscape
  • Spring Boot Microservice Development on Kubernetes Videos
  • By Christian Posta (https://twitter.com/christianposta) ; Spring Boot applications on Kubernetes using the latest cloud and Spring technologies
  • Kubernetes Secret Manager (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kb7DU-Qwtrc)
  • Manage secrets with Vault inside a K8 cluster; by Steve Sloka (https://twitter.com/stevesloka)
  • Datera Simplifies Stateful workloads on Kubernetes – Integration with Yarn (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OIXnbxHTjkM)
  • demonstrates Datera Elastic Block Storage integration with Kubernetes as the persistent storage. In addition, it shows YARN integration with Kubernetes to scale out data node instances on demand and articulates the Datera intent-based storage architecture.
  • Bootcamp Overview (https://kubernetesbootcamp.github.io/kubernetes-bootcamp/)
  • 60 minute online course; By the end of this bootcamp you will understand what Kubernetes does. You will also learn how to deploy, scale, update and debug containerized applications on a Kubernetes cluster using an interactive online terminal.
  • Kubernetes Migration with Sheriff Mohamed (http://softwareengineeringdaily.com/2016/08/25/kubernetes-migration-with-sheriff-mohamed/)
  • Podcast by Jeff Meyerson (https://twitter.com/the_prion/) ; Today’s episode is a case study in how to deploy Kubernetes to production at a company with existing infrastructure
  • Mobile, Node, Containers and Kubernetes — Red Hat Mobile Enabled Enterprise Node.js (https://vimeo.com/180476156)
  • By Micheál O’Foghlu (https://twitter.com/kecactus) ; The Red Hat Mobile Application Platform on premise MBaaS packages these technologies so they can be easily used to manage a large volume of mobile apps in a convenient way.
  • 2016-LinuxCon-NA-CoreOS-A-Tutorial-on-Hyperscale-Infrastructure (https://github.com/philips/2016-LinuxCon-NA-CoreOS-A-Tutorial-on-Hyperscale-Infrastructure)
  • By Brandon Philips (https://twitter.com/BrandonPhilips) ; This presentation was given at LinuxCon 2016 in Toronto. There was a live tutorial given and the video is not yet available. However, there are slides (https://speakerdeck.com/philips/coreos-a-tutorial-on-hyperscale-infrastructure) .
  • Datera Announces Integration with Google’s Kubernetes (http://www.penguinpunk.net/blog/datera-announces-integration-with-googles-kubernetes/)
  • By Dan Frith (https://twitter.com/penguinpunk) ; demo video which covers a lot of the capability if you’re looking to add some scalable, persistent storage to your Kubernetes deployment
  • OpenStack+Kubernetes:Wonder Stack for Diverse Workloads & Continuous Innovation (https://www.brighttalk.com/webcast/14395/217273?utm_campaign=Twitter&utm_content=&utm_source=brighttalk-sharing&utm_medium=web&utm_term=)
  • By Nathan Trueblood (https://www.linkedin.com/in/nathantrueblood) & Das Kamhout (https://twitter.com/dkamhout) ; learn about how you can benefit from the work the OpenStack and Kubernetes communities are doing to provide a single platform for running bare metal, VMs and container workloads so that companies can rapidly deliver applications and business value to their customers.
  • Containerizing OpenStack Control Plane on Kubernetes (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EDvsJa5SJ3I)
  • This short video demonstrates one benefit of containerizing the OpenStack IaaS cloud control-plane and running it across a container cluster orchestrated by Kubernetes
  • Spring Boot Microservice Development on Kubernetes: The Easy Way (http://blog.christianposta.com/microservices/spring-boot-microservice-development-on-kubernetes-the-easy-way/)
  • By Christian Posta (https://twitter.com/christianposta) ; demo for using your IDE to create a Spring Boot microservice and run it on Kubernetes
  • Kubernetes Cluster Lifecycle (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A70V5ekXRJU&feature=youtu.be)
  • By Vishnu Kannan (https://twitter.com/vishnukanan)
  • fabric8 getting started on AWS (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lNRpGJTSMKA)
  • By James Rawlings (https://twitter.com/jdrawlings) ; a getting started guide for fabric8 running on AWS using stackpoint.io

Literature:

  • Containers Beyond The Hype (https://www.amazon.com/Containers-Beyond-Hype-Dinesh-Subhraveti/dp/0997023619?SubscriptionId=AKIAJ2HQNLFCLUOUMLHQ&tag=zippylab-20&linkCode=sp1&camp=2025&creative=165953&creativeASIN=0997023619&zpy=1)
  • “In this book, Dinesh Subhraveti (https://twitter.com/dsubhraveti) , an early inventor of the technology, presents deep insights into it in a simple and accessible manner.”
  • Getting Started with Kubernetes (https://www.amazon.com/Getting-Started-Kubernetes-Jonathan-Baier/dp/1784394033?SubscriptionId=AKIAJ2HQNLFCLUOUMLHQ&tag=zippylab-20&linkCode=sp1&camp=2025&creative=165953&creativeASIN=1784394033&zpy=1)
  • By Jonathan Baier (https://twitter.com/grizzbaier) ; “Learn the fundamentals of Kubernetes – how it works, and how it fits into the growing containerization trend”
  • Kubernetes in Action (https://www.manning.com/books/kubernetes-in-action)
  • “Kubernetes in Action teaches developers how to use Kubernetes to deploy self-healing scalable distributed applications.”
  • Infrastructure as Code: Managing Servers in the Cloud 1st Edition (https://www.amazon.com/Infrastructure-Code-Managing-Servers-Cloud/dp/1491924357?SubscriptionId=AKIAJ2HQNLFCLUOUMLHQ&tag=zippylab-20&linkCode=sp1&camp=2025&creative=165953&creativeASIN=1491924357&zpy=1)
  • “With this practical guide, author Kief Morris (https://twitter.com/kief) of ThoughtWorks shows you how to effectively use principles, practices, and patterns pioneered through the DevOps movement to manage cloud age infrastructure.”
  • Kubernetes: Up and Running: Dive into the Future of Infrastructure 1st Edition (https://www.amazon.com/Kubernetes-Running-Dive-Future-Infrastructure/dp/1491935677/)
  • “This practical book will prepare you to take advantage of everything the Kubernetes platform has to offer.”