Technical:

  • Create a Couchbase cluster using Kubernetes (http://blog.kubernetes.io/2016/08/create-couchbase-cluster-using-kubernetes.html)
  • By Arun Gupta (https://twitter.com/arungupta)
  • lobsters-on-kubernetes (https://github.com/kelseyhightower/lobsters-on-kubernetes/blob/master/Dockerfile)
  • By Kelsey Hightower (https://twitter.com/kelseyhightower)
  • Kubernetes Plugin (https://wiki.jenkins-ci.org/display/JENKINS/Kubernetes+Plugin?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter)
  • By Carlos Sanchez (https://twitter.com/csanchez)
  • Monitoring Kubernetes with Heapster (https://deis.com/blog/2016/monitoring-kubernetes-with-heapster/)
  • By Nitish Tiwari (https://twitter.com/tiwari_nitish)
  • running kubernetes in containers on atomic (https://jebpages.com/2016/08/15/running-kubernetes-in-containers-on-atomic/)
  • By Jason Brooks (https://twitter.com/jasonbrooks)
  • Pet Sets (http://kubernetes.io/docs/user-guide/petset/)
  • Design docs, concept definitions, and references for APIs and CLIs
  • replica set config is invalid or we are not a member of it, running in kubernetes (http://stackoverflow.com/questions/34041110/replica-set-config-is-invalid-or-we-are-not-a-member-of-it-running-in-kubernete)
  • By Hokutosei (https://twitter.com/jeanepaul)
  • BGPaaS in OpenStack – Kubernetes with Calico in OpenStack with OpenContrail (http://www.tcpcloud.eu/en/blog/2016/08/12/bgpaasinopenstack/)
  • By Jakub Pavlik (https://twitter.com/JakubPav) & Marek Celoud (https://twitter.com/MCeloud)
  • Take the Kubernetes API for a Spin (http://thenewstack.io/taking-kubernetes-api-spin/)
  • By Janakiram MSV (https://twitter.com/janakiramm)
  • Node.JS utility library for working with Kubernetes (https://www.npmjs.com/package/kubejs)
  • Simplified Kubernetes API client (https://www.npmjs.com/package/kubernetes-client)
  • By Silas Boyd-Wickizer (https://github.com/silasbw) & Jarrett Cruger (https://twitter.com/jcrugzz)
  • kubelet evicts resources when observing disk pressure (https://github.com/kubernetes/features/issues/39)
  • By Derek Wayne Carr (https://github.com/derekwaynecarr)
  • JHipster release 3.6.0 (http://jhipster.github.io/2016/08/17/jhipster-release-3.6.0.html)
  • By Java Hiptser (https://twitter.com/java_hipster)
  • Kubernetes Unable to mount volumes for pod with timeout (http://stackoverflow.com/questions/38997363/kubernetes-unable-to-mount-volumes-for-pod-with-timeout)
  • By Gleeb (http://stackoverflow.com/users/445468/gleeb)
  • Jira on Kubernetes (https://github.com/kelseyhightower/jira-on-kubernetes/blob/master/README.md)
  • By Kelsey Hightower (https://twitter.com/kelseyhightower)
  • Graceful shutdown of pods with Kubernetes (https://pracucci.com/graceful-shutdown-of-kubernetes-pods.html)
  • By Marco Pracucci (https://twitter.com/pracucci)
  • Quobyte Volume plugin (https://github.com/kubernetes/kubernetes/pull/24977)
  • By John Scheuer (https://twitter.com/johnws125)
  • Using Kubernetes API Go SDK to Launch a Jupyter Notebook (https://www.rushtehrani.com/post/using-kubernetes-api/)
  • By Rush Tehrani (https://twitter.com/rushtehrani)

Blogs/Articles:

  • GCP Podcast #38 Site Reliability Engineering (https://www.gcppodcast.com/post/episode-38-site-reliability-engineering-with-paul-newson/)
  • By Paul Newson (https://twitter.com/newsons_nybbles) , Francesc (https://twitter.com/francesc) , Mark Mandel (https://twitter.com/neurotic)
  • Huawei Launches a Kubernetes-based Container Engine (http://thenewstack.io/huawei-launches-kubernetes-based-container-engine/)
  • By Joab Jackson (https://twitter.com/Joab_Jackson)
  • 28 software container experts you should follow on Twitter (http://techbeacon.com/28-software-container-experts-you-should-follow-twitter)
  • By Mitchell Long (https://twitter.com/mitchellclong)
  • Tech ONTAP Podcast Episode 53: Developer Advocacy and Kubernetes (http://community.netapp.com/t5/Technology/Tech-ONTAP-Podcast-Episode-53-Developer-Advocacy-and-Kubernetes/ba-p/122447)
  • By Josh Atwell (https://twitter.com/Josh_Atwell) & Kelsey Hightower (https://twitter.com/kelseyhightower)
  • OpenStack Silicon Valley Pancake Podcast: Kubernetes, OpenStack and PaaS 2.0 (http://thenewstack.io/ossv-pancake-breakfast-kubernetes-openstack-usher-paas-2-0/)
  • By Kiran “CK” Oliver (https://twitter.com/koliver_writes)
  • Deploying Microservices on OpenShift using Kubernetes (http://developers.redhat.com/blog/2016/08/16/deploying-microservices-on-openshift-using-kubernetes/)
  • By Christopher Tozzi (http://developers.redhat.com/blog/author/rhchristophertozzi/)
  • CoreOS makes Kubernetes a one-stop solution for enterprises (http://opensourceforu.com/2016/08/coreos-makes-kubernetes-one-stop-solution-enterprises/?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+LinuxForYou+%28OpenSourceForYou+%29)
  • By Jagmeet Singh (http://opensourceforu.com/author/jagmeet-singh/)
  • Kubernetes Namespaces: use cases and insights (http://blog.kubernetes.io/2016/08/kubernetes-namespaces-use-cases-insights.html)
  • By Mike Altarace (https://twitter.com/maltarace) & Daz Wilkin (https://github.com/DazWilkin)
  • Container Orchestration Tools: Compare Kubernetes vs Docker Swarm (https://platform9.com/blog/compare-kubernetes-vs-docker-swarm/)
  • By Vijay Dwivedi (https://www.linkedin.com/in/vijay-dwivedi-8b86781)
  • SIG Apps: build apps for and operate them in Kubernetes (http://blog.kubernetes.io/2016/08/sig-apps-running-apps-in-kubernetes.html)
  • By Matt Farina (https://twitter.com/mattfarina)
  • CoreOS continues to bring Kubernetes to the private cloud (http://www.zdnet.com/article/coreos-continues-to-bring-kubernetes-to-the-private-cloud/)
  • By Steven J. Vaughan-Nichols (https://twitter.com/sjvn)
  • It’s The Future (https://circleci.com/blog/its-the-future/)
  • By Paul Biggar (https://twitter.com/paulbiggar)
  • Stateful applications spark container management debate (http://searchitoperations.techtarget.com/news/450302619/Stateful-applications-spark-container-management-debate)
  • By Beth Pariseau (https://twitter.com/pariseautt)
  • Containers and Kubernetes ease OpenStack lifecycle management pain (http://searchdatacenter.techtarget.com/news/450302779/Containers-and-Kubernetes-ease-OpenStack-lifecycle-management-pain?utm_campaign=Contact+SNS+For+More+Referrer&utm_medium=twitter&utm_source=snsanalytics)
  • By Robert Gates (https://twitter.com/RBGatesTT)
  • Google made its secret blueprint public to boost its cloud (http://www.wired.com/2015/06/google-kubernetes-says-future-cloud-computing/)
  • By Cade Metz (https://twitter.com/CadeMetz)
  • Kubernetes – Stupid Human mistakes going to prod (http://www.devoperandi.com/kubernetes-stupid-human-mistakes-going-to-prod/)
  • By Devoperandi (https://twitter.com/DevoperandI)

Upcoming Events:

  • Atomic Host / Containers / Kubernetes Live (http://www.meetup.com/RVaLUG/events/232646461/)
  • August 23, Richmond
  • K8s Bash by CoreOS, Google, Portworx, Rancher, Intel, Sysdig, Deis, Datera (https://www.eventbrite.com/e/k8s-bash-by-coreos-google-portworx-rancher-intel-sysdig-deis-datera-tickets-27119910382)
  • August 23, Toronto
  • Tensorflow + Dataflow + Kubernetes (http://www.meetup.com/Data-Science-London/events/233280512/?rv=ea1)
  • August 23, London
  • Kubernetes Clusters – Running, Setup, Configuration, Components (http://www.meetup.com/Bay-Area-Kubernetes-Meetup/events/233074166/)
  • August 24, Palo Alto
  • The Cloud Native Computing Foundation Announces Full Speaker Lineup for Inaugural CloudNativeDay (https://cncf.io/news/announcement/2016/06/cloud-native-computing-foundation-announces-full-speaker-lineup-inaugural)
  • August 25, Toronto
  • DevOps Days (http://www.devopsdays.org/events/2016-boston/program/)
  • August 25, Boston
  • Running a Micro-Datacenter with Kubernetes and Raspberry Pi (https://www.meetup.com/Kubernetes-Cloud-Native-New-York/events/232752855/)
  • August 25, NYC
  • Getting Started with Kubernetes (http://www.kubernetes.live/) (K8 Webinar Series)
  • August 29, Webinar
  • Kubernetes and Docker Bootcamp (KD100) (https://training.mirantis.com/instructor-led-training/kubernetes-docker-bootcamp)
  • August 29-30, Sunnyvale
  • CI and CD with Docker, Kubernetes and RedHat OpenShift (https://www.meetup.com/ContinuousDeliveryNYC/events/233146148/)
  • August 30, NYC
  • Mastering Microservices and Continuous Delivery (https://www.eventbrite.com/e/mastering-microservices-and-continuous-delivery-tickets-26707327335?aff=arun)
  • August 30, San Francisco
  • Managing High Availability Kubernetes Clusters for Production Workloads – August 2016 Online Meetup (http://rancher.com/event/managing-high-availability-kubernetes-clusters-production-workloads-august-2016-online-meetup/)
  • August 31, Online Meetup
  • Crash Course Kubernetes Session at VMWorld 2016 (http://discoposse.com/2016/08/05/techforward-crash-course-kubernetes-session-at-vmworld-2016/?utm_content=buffere1d3e&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer)
  • August 31, Las Vegas
  • September Kubernetes Training (https://www.eventbrite.com/e/september-kubernetes-training-san-francisco-tickets-26936096590)
  • September 13-14, San Francisco
  • Intro to Kubernetes (http://www.meetup.com/utahgophers/events/231090268/)
  • September 6, Lehi, Utah
  • Kubernetes with Weaveworks and Apcera (http://www.meetup.com/San-Francisco-Kubernetes-Meetup/events/233070422/?utm_campaign=Kubernetes&utm_content=32217926&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter)
  • September 7, San Francisco
  • Skippbox (http://www.eventbrite.com/o/skippbox-7948678975)
  • September 9; Online classes
    o Intro to Docker
    o Intro to Kubernetes
  • OpenShift 3 Hands-On Workshop (http://www.meetup.com/Boston-OpenShift-Meetup/events/229143049/)
  • September 19, Boston
  • LinuxCon+ContainerCon Europe 2016 (https://linuxconcontainerconeurope2016.sched.org/event/7oHK/bringing-security-and-multi-tenancy-to-kubernetes-lei-zhang-kubernetes-project)
  • October 4-6, Berlin
  • KubeCon (http://events.linuxfoundation.org/events/kubecon)
  • Nov 8-9, Seattle
  • co-located with CloudNativeCon

Slideshare:

  • Kubernetes and Prometheus (http://www.slideshare.net/weaveworks/kubernetes-and-prometheus)
  • By Tom Wilkie (https://twitter.com/tom_wilkie)
  • Bilding Cloud Native Applications with Go (https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1G1iGjfDbBQdks0HyLn51O3schuwJTv7hzYPYpzve7I0/pub?start=false&loop=false&delayms=3000&slide=id.gff9e37bd1_0_77)
  • By Mandy Waite (https://twitter.com/tekgrrl)
  • Networking & Policies for Kubernetes (http://www.slideshare.net/nuage-networks/networking-policies-for-kubernetes-by-harmeet-sahni-director-plm-nuage-networks-nfd12)
  • By Harmeet Sahni (https://www.linkedin.com/in/harmeetsahni)
  • Kubernetes 101 Workshop (http://www.slideshare.net/bretmc/kubernetes-101-workshop)
  • By Bret McGowen (https://twitter.com/bretmcg)

Presentations:

  • Habitat 201: Habitat in the Ecosystem (https://blog.chef.io/2016/08/16/habitat-201-habitat-ecosystem/)
  • In this Habitat 201 talk from ChefConf 2016, George Miranda (https://twitter.com/gmiranda23) , product marketing manager at Chef, talks about how Habitat integrates into the rest of the ecosystem around containers and modern application management
  • Debugging Kubernetes: Gubernator Demo (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2ay_8a6-EYM)
  • By Marie Shaw (https://github.com/mnshaw)
  • OpenStack Days Silicon Valley 2016: OpenStack and Kubernetes, A Winning Container Game Plan (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PXlgbiiRkrU)
  • By Brandon Philips (https://twitter.com/BrandonPhilips) & Craig McLuckie (https://twitter.com/cmcluck) ; talk about the convergence of the Kubernetes and OpenStack communities, and what this could mean for both the OpenStack Foundation and the Cloud Native Computing initiative within the Linux Foundation.
  • Building Microservice Systems with Docker and Kubernetes (https://www.safaribooksonline.com/library/view/building-microservice-systems/9781771375917/)
  • By Ben Straub (https://twitter.com/benstraub) ; This course teaches you how to build microservice systems hosted with Kubernetes.
  • Datera Simplifies Stateful workloads on Kubernetes – Integration with Yarn (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OIXnbxHTjkM)
  • Demonstrates Datera Elastic Block Storage integration with Kubernetes as the persistent storage. In addition, it shows YARN integration with Kubernetes to scale out data node instances on demand and articulates the Datera intent-based storage architecture.
  • Kubernetes Community Meeting 20160818 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GkvW48kULIU)
  • Reports from SIG-UI and WG-Contribex, 1.4 Features Update, SIG-Storage offsite summary, new SIG-service-catalog announcement
  • Gluster Persistent Storage in Kubernetes or Openshift. PV and PVC using GlusterFS plugin Part 4
  • covers how to use GlusterFS as a Persistent Data Store in Kuberenetes or Openshift
  • OpenStack Days Silicon Valley 2016: SAP’s OpenStack, Running on Kubernetes in Production (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4gyeixJLabo)
  • Drivers that lead to SAP’s chosen architecture and will outline a high-level view spanning infrastructure, software and the continuous delivery processes applied
  • Docker Containers and Kubernetes with Brian Dorsey (http://tlks.io/talk/docker-containers-and-kubernetes-wth-brian-dorsey)
  • In this talk, Brian Dorsey (https://twitter.com/briandorsey) does a hands-on demonstration of how you can move from a single Docker container to many containers running across a cluster of machines with Kubernetes

Literature:

  • Containers Beyond The Hype (https://www.amazon.com/Containers-Beyond-Hype-Dinesh-Subhraveti/dp/0997023619?SubscriptionId=AKIAJ2HQNLFCLUOUMLHQ&tag=zippylab-20&linkCode=sp1&camp=2025&creative=165953&creativeASIN=0997023619&zpy=1)
  • “In this book, Dinesh Subhraveti (https://twitter.com/dsubhraveti) , an early inventor of the technology, presents deep insights into it in a simple and accessible manner.”
  • Kubernetes in Action (https://www.manning.com/books/kubernetes-in-action)
  • “Kubernetes in Action teaches developers how to use Kubernetes to deploy self-healing scalable distributed applications.”
  • The DevOps 2.0 Toolkit: Automating the Continuous Deployment Pipeline with Containerized Microservices (https://www.amazon.com/DevOps-2-0-Toolkit-Containerized-Microservices/dp/152391744X?SubscriptionId=AKIAJ2HQNLFCLUOUMLHQ&tag=zippylab-20&linkCode=sp1&camp=2025&creative=165953&creativeASIN=152391744X&zpy=1)
  • “This book is about different techniques that help us architect software in a better and more efficient way with microservices packed as immutable containers, tested and deployed continuously to servers that are automatically provisioned with configuration management tools”
  • Building Microservices Kindle Edition (https://www.amazon.com/Building-Microservices-Sam-Newman-ebook/dp/B00T3N7XB4?SubscriptionId=AKIAJ2HQNLFCLUOUMLHQ&tag=zippylab-20&linkCode=sp1&camp=2025&creative=165953&creativeASIN=B00T3N7XB4&zpy=1#nav-subnav)
  • “With lots of examples and practical advice, this book takes a holistic view of the topics that system architects and administrators must consider when building, managing, and evolving microservice architectures.”
  • Kubernetes: Up and Running: Dive into the Future of Infrastructure 1st Edition (https://www.amazon.com/Kubernetes-Running-Dive-Future-Infrastructure/dp/1491935677/)
  • “This practical book will prepare you to take advantage of everything the Kubernetes platform has to offer.”