The Headlines

Editor’s picks of the highlights from the past week.

Annual “CNCF Community Awards” Nominations Kick Off – Winners to be Recognized at KubeCon + CloudNativeCon Seattle (https://www.cncf.io/blog/2018/10/08/annual-cncf-community-awards-nominations-kick-off-winners-to-be-recognized-at-kubecon-cloudnativecon-seattle/)
Kristen Evans, CNCF

Nominations are now open for the third-annual CNCF Community Awards – honoring those who have made the greatest impact over the last year in the cloud native space. Within our fast-growing project communities, there’s an incredible amount of talent, hard work and commitment worthy of recognition. So, if you know a deserving ambassador, maintainer and/or advocate working hard to advance cloud native innovation + serve the community, nominate them through this year’s awards.

Introducing the Non-Code Contributor’s Guide (https://kubernetes.io/blog/2018/10/04/introducing-the-non-code-contributors-guide/)
Noah Abrahams, InfoSiftr; Jonas Rosland, VMware; Ihor Dvoretskyi, CNCF

The Non-Code Contributor’s Guide aims to make it easy for anyone to contribute to the Kubernetes project in a way that makes sense for them. This can be in many forms, technical and non-technical, based on the person’s knowledge of the project and their available time. Most individuals are not developers, and most of the world’s developers are not paid to fully work on open source projects. Based on this we have started an ever-growing list of possible ways to contribute to the Kubernetes project in a Non-Code way!

Deploy Your First Deep Learning Model On Kubernetes With Python, Keras, Flask, and Docker (https://medium.com/analytics-vidhya/deploy-your-first-deep-learning-model-on-kubernetes-with-python-keras-flask-and-docker-575dc07d9e76)
Gus Cavanaugh, Anaconda, Inc.

This post demonstrates a basic example of how to build a deep learning model with Keras, serve it as REST API with Flask, and deploy it using Docker and Kubernetes. This is a quick guide for anyone out there who has heard about Kubernetes but hasn’t tried it out yet. Kubernetes makes it exceedingly easy to deploy, scale, and manage a REST API that serves up predictions.
New Webinar: Intro to Harbor

James Zabala – Open Source Lead, VMware
October 16 @ 10:00 am – 11:00 am PDT
REGISTER NOW » (https://www.cncf.io/event/webinar-harbor/)

The Technical

Tutorials, tools, and more that take you on a deep dive into the code.

How to Use Envoy as a Load Balancer in Kubernetes (https://blog.markvincze.com/how-to-use-envoy-as-a-load-balancer-in-kubernetes/)
Mark Vincze, Travix International

Support for Azure VMSS, Cluster-Autoscaler and User Assigned Identity (https://kubernetes.io/blog/2018/10/08/support-for-azure-vmss–cluster-autoscaler-and-user-assigned-identity/)
Krishnakumar R (KK), Microsoft; Pengfei Ni, Microsoft
Introducing Volume Snapshot Alpha for Kubernetes (https://kubernetes.io/blog/2018/10/09/introducing-volume-snapshot-alpha-for-kubernetes/)
Jing Xu, Google; Xing Yang, Huawei; Saad Ali, Google

Kubernetes | Deploying Prometheus Operator (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xcgrKNUBPvo)
Zeieshan Ahmed, Curve

How to Generate Certificates for Kubeadm with Vault (https://koudingspawn-blog.firebaseapp.com/combine-vault-with-kubeadm/)
Björn Wenzel, Schenker AG

Kubernetes Resource Statistics (https://itnext.io/kubernetes-resource-statistics-e8247f92b45c)
Michael Hausenblas, Red Hat

Autoscaling Applications on Kubernetes – A Primer (https://blog.tomkerkhove.be/2018/10/08/autoscaling-applications-on-kubernetes-a-primer/)
Tom Kerkhove, Codit

Deploy Machine Learning Models with GKE and Dataiku (https://longhowlam.wordpress.com/2018/10/08/deploy-machine-learning-models-with-gke-and-dataiku/)
Longhow Lam

Manipulating Istio and other Custom Kubernetes Resources in Golang (https://dwmkerr.com/manipulating-istio-and-other-custom-kubernetes-resources-in-golang/)
Dave Kerr, McKinsey & Company​

Tooling Spotlight:

  • KubeFuse (https://github.com/opencredo/KubeFuse) allows you to navigate and edit Kubernetes resources as a file system
  • kubehost (https://github.com/GoogleContainerTools/kubehost) exposes services directly on nodes of your Google Kubernetes Engine (GKE) cluster
  • kube-score (https://github.com/zegl/kube-score) performs static code analysis of your Kubernetes YAML definitions
  • krs (https://github.com/mhausenblas/krs) exposes Kubernetes resource statistics in OpenMetrics format

The Editorial

Articles, announcements, and more that give you a high-level overview of challenges and features.

Kubernetes v1.12: Introducing RuntimeClass (https://kubernetes.io/blog/2018/10/10/kubernetes-v1.12-introducing-runtimeclass/)
Tim Allclair, Google

Kubernetes Is a Prime Catalyst in AI and Big Data’s Evolution (https://www.datanami.com/2018/10/10/kubernetes-is-a-prime-catalyst-in-ai-and-big-datas-evolution/)
James Kobielus , SiliconANGLE

Cloud Foundry Expands its Support for Kubernetes (https://techcrunch.com/2018/10/10/cloud-foundry-expands-its-support-for-kubernetes/?sr_share=twitter&utm_source=tctwreshare)
Frederic Lardinois, TechCrunch

Spinnaker, with Steven Kim (https://kubernetespodcast.com/episode/024-spinnaker/)
Craig Box & Adam Glick , Google

Podcast: All Things Kubernetes with Scott Lowe (https://next.nutanix.com/blog-40/podcast-all-things-kubernetes-with-scott-lowe-31007)
Dwayne Lessner & Angelo Luciani, Nutanix

Making the Bet on Open Source (https://dzone.com/articles/making-the-bet-on-open-source)
Laurent Bride, Talend

Kubernetes 1.12 Brings Volume Snapshots, TLS Improvements, and More (https://www.infoq.com/news/2018/10/kubernetes-1-12)
Diogo Carleto, InfoQ

Imperative vs Declarative (https://medium.com/@dominik.tornow/imperative-vs-declarative-8abc7dcae82e)
Andrew Chen, Google; Dominik Tornow, SAP Labs

Container Security Starts with Kubernetes (https://jaxenter.com/container-security-kubernetes-150356.html)
Todd Morneau, JAXenter

Docker And Kubernetes: Furthering The Goals Of DevOps Automation (https://www.forbes.com/sites/forbestechcouncil/2018/10/10/docker-and-kubernetes-furthering-the-goals-of-devops-automation/#6fcd5aa26506)
Aater Suleman, Forbes

===========================================================

KubeWeekly is curated by ** Michael Hausenblas (https://twitter.com/mhausenblas)
and ** Kaitlyn Barnard (https://twitter.com/kaitlyn_barnard)