Kubernetes crossed some great milestones this past week:

  • 12,000+ commits
  • 8,000+ stars
  • 360+ contributors
  • 50 releases

As a reference, this is by far the most active, fastest growing (by contributors) and most followed container orchestration project in existence! Kubernetes is also the second most active project written in Go, right behind Docker.

Blog Posts

OpenStack as the Integration Engine for Modern Infrastructure (http://premium.wikibon.com/openstack-as-the-integration-engine-for-modern-infrastructure/) by Stuart Miniman (https://twitter.com/stu)

Application Containers: Kubernetes and Docker from Scratch (http://keithtenzer.com/2015/06/01/application-containers-kubernetes-and-docker-from-scratch/) by Keith Tenzer (https://twitter.com/keithtenzer)

Automated Image Builds with Jenkins, Packer, and Kubernetes (https://cloud.google.com/solutions/automated-build-images-with-jenkins-kubernetes) (Blog (http://googlecloudplatform.blogspot.com/2015/05/Automated-Compute-Engine-and-Docker-Image-Builds-with-Jenkins-Packer-and-Kubernetes.html) ) by Evan Brown (https://twitter.com/evandbrown)

Kubernetes Storage Options (https://huaminchen.wordpress.com/2015/05/27/kubernetes-storage-options/) by Huamin Chen (https://twitter.com/root_fs)

Articles

Who wrote Kubernetes? (https://gist.github.com/eparis/e5a445964ce8a54996e9) by Eric Paris (https://github.com/eparis)

Q&A with Project Lead for Microservices-infrastructure at Cisco (http://www.infoq.com/news/2015/05/cisco-microservice-infra) by Daniel Bryant (https://twitter.com/danielbryantuk) & Keith Chambers (https://twitter.com/keithchambers)

Events

Meetup recap: Kubernetes Crash Course – CloudOps SF (http://blog.kismatic.com/meetup-recap-cloudops-sf-kubernetes-crash-course/) by Kismatic (https://twitter.com/kismatic)

Meetup recap #2: Kubernetes Crash Course – Silicon Valley Cloud Computing (http://blog.kismatic.com/meetup-recap-2-kubernetes-crash-course/) by Kismatic (https://twitter.com/kismatic)

Videos

Scaling clusters declaratively with Kubernetes and Docker (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P-YbKJ8G1Bg) by Brian Dorsey (https://twitter.com/briandorsey)

Managing Containers at Scale with CoreOS and Kubernetes (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=weF-TOwJBxw) by Kelsey Hightower (https://twitter.com/kelseyhightower)

Meetups This Week

June 2nd: Let’s meetup and talk about Containers at Scale with Docker & Kubernetes (http://www.meetup.com/Toronto-Red-Hat-Users-Group-Meetup/events/222719722/) in Toronto, Canada

June 4th: ClusterUP Docker Online Meetup: Presenting Docker Basics and Q&A on Use Cases (http://www.meetup.com/Docker-Meetup-by-ClusterUP/events/222697858/) in Fremont, California

June 5th: Cluster Management with Kubernetes by Satnam Singh – Cluster Management with Kubernetes (http://www.inf.ed.ac.uk/student-services/parallelism-cdt/cdt-in-pervasive-parallelism-events/cdt-in-pervasive-parallelism-seminar-series) in Mountain View, California