What’s New in Kubernetes 1.11

By: Ihor Dvoretskyi, Jun Du, Chris O’Haver, Michael Taufen, Hemant KumarJuly 31st, 2018

Kubernetes 1.11 continues to advance maturity, scalability, and flexibility of Kubernetes, marking significant progress on features that the team has been hard at work on over the last year. This newest version graduates key features in networking, opens up two major features from SIG-API Machinery and SIG-Node for beta testing, and continues to enhance storage features that have been a focal point of the past two releases. The features in this release make it increasingly possible to plug any infrastructure, cloud or on-premise, into the Kubernetes system.

DOWNLOAD SLIDES

Transcript

Ihor Dvoretskyi: Welcome, everyone. Welcome to the CNCF webinar series. My name is Ihor Dvoretskyi. I’m a developer advocate at Cloud Native Computing Foundation and features lead on the Kubernetes 1.11 release team. Today we’ll speak about Kubernetes 1.11, the latest release, the newest one from the Kubernetes release team.

Ihor Dvoretskyi: I will present this today, Jun Du and Chris O’Haver from Kubernetes SIG-Networking, Michael Taufen from SIG-Node, Hemant Kumar from SIG-Storage, and Kaitlyn Barnard who is 1.11 release communications coordinator, and she’ll help us with running the webinar.

Ihor Dvoretskyi: With this release we have around 25 features that add the new functionality to Kubernetes, or heavily enhance the existing one. The most important of them you can see on the current slide and we’ll highlight in today’s webinar with more details.

Ihor Dvoretskyi:  Now I’d like to pass the microphone to Jun Du from Sig Networking, who describes a new feature called IPVS-based in-cluster service load balancing. Welcome, Jun.

Jun Du: Hi. My name’s Jun Du. I’m from Huawei, and I’m the IPVS owner. Glad to see you. Hi, good morning. It’s 1:00 in China. So let’s begin. Okay. As we know, it’s the default mode to process IPTables. So what’s IPTables?